Wanna speak like a member of high society? OK!

in #youtube6 years ago

So, I just watched this video on the origin of the "word" O.K.

Pretty interesting right? What makes it a bit more interesting to me is that I remember learning in high school English class that you should use the word "okay" instead. This is because "O.K." I supposedly slang, and presumably okay is the more proper form of the word. Except it's not. Both are slang. O.K. happens to be a weird ass form of old-school Bostonian slang and okay is a long form of the slang that was likely invented by self-important asses that felt that they were too good to use slang, yet they still wanted to use it.

There's actually quite a few words like this. One of the most commonly used ones that I can think of is "hi", which predates the supposedly more proper version, "hello" by thousands of years. "Hi" comes from Sanskrit if I remember correctly.

That's not the important part though. What really fucking annoys me with learning about this is how I was just utterly lied to in school because some asshole thought that it was more proper to use a fake long version of a word, because it was longer.

There actually are more proper ways of talking and writing. If there's one thing that Trump has taught us all, it's that there is a "high" form of English that one should use when speaking in a formal setting, and he doesn't. But there are quite a few rules that they just fucking made up, and are just alternate forms of slang.

I don't know who it is that's in charge of determining the "proper" way to speak and write, but I got beef with him.

It's important that we learn how to speak in "High English", but sometimes what they determine as "High English" is actually just complete bullshit. I'd actually want to take a class in "High English" if I could if I knew that I wouldn't just be lied to at various points and not even know unless I looked up everything I was told.

This is of course not the only thing that they lie to you about in school. I remember reading a quite awesome book quite a number of years ago, "Lies My Teacher Told Me", that was quite good. It's just fucking annoying. Here we are, trusting that these teachers are teaching us what we need to know, and they're just teaching whatever bullshit some asshole decided to put in the textbook.

How can we trust anything they taught us when years later we find out that even certain basic things were just bull?

Sort:  

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

This is of course not the only thing that they lie to you about in school.

Of course. You thought that the purpose of mandatory schooling was to educate? It is not. Its purpose is to indoctrinate.

There are some good teachers out there who do a good job with the resources they're given... but what they're given is often a pile of complete horse shit. The best teacher I ever had almost never taught from the prescribed curriculum, or at least had a damn good way of hiding it.

I just wished people would speak properly and stop this lazy English that is becoming more and more predominant now.

Hi @geekpowered!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.006 which ranks you at #3458 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 597 contributions, your post is ranked at #348.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

@geekpowered Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86