Writing without inspiration is the real talent.

in #writing7 years ago

One man told me lately that, "You cannot call yourself a writer. It's the most honorable title which others give to you." And here I am, calling myself a writer. And I don't care who tells me what, I will never consider being something less than a writer.

And one of the biggest problems I face these days is finding some inspiration, motivation, and other -ations. I just don't feel like doing anything. I am a little tired and overworked to think about things to write. That's where the real beauty of creative work begins.

Didysis Kanjonas JAV.jpg

Many people believe that artists should only create when they are inspired. I believe that artists must create all the time, despite any circumstances. Creative work is like any other work to me - it requires practice. A lot of practice. We don't think it's ok for professional athletes to rest when they are feeling lazy, so why is it ok for artists to rest when they are uninspired?

So I have this rule to write every day and keep my skills sharp for whenever I experience inspiration.

You cannot expect to grow food if you don't seed it.

Sometimes I struggle to write a sentence for like an hour. I keep distracting myself and looking at one spot on the wall just to avoid writing. Gladly, in the end, I still write something. And I understand that most of the time the things I write without inspiration are trash. I don't even ask anyone else to read it. I can just destroy my manuscript.

Writing, just like anything else, requires practice. You don't have to be proud of your practice; you just need to do it.

And that's why I keep rolling. I tell myself, "You must do it, lazy bastard. You wanted to be a writer all the time, so pay the price now." And I start writing. You know what's the best part? When inspiration comes, I know that I am prepared to craft a masterpiece because of all the training.

Nobody ever wants to talk about the backstage of their lives. Ironically, the most action happens in the backstage.

People are used to only seeing the final product these days... and it sucks. This kind of behavior kills all the appreciation we used to have. We just expect everything to be perfect and we never ask questions how that perfection is crafted. Just think about it for a while. Have you ever cared about the hard work of other people? Nope. Sadly, there cannot be any quality without hard work. Talent cannot get people anywhere without other components.

And consistency is the most important component of them all. So keep on doing what you love every day without any excuses.

Hierva del Agua Meksika.jpg

Sort:  

writing just like finding adestination

Yup, it's true!

I do agree with you and I believe you are a writer. You seem to be pretty commited so just work towards your goal. I would recommend you a book about writing and creativity, Big Magic by Elisabeth Gilbert that pretty much says the same. Go on and do have fun :)

Thanks @teodora! I'll definitely check that book!

Dude. Such an important idea to share -it takes hard fucking work! Thanks for sharing this. Resteemed!

Thanks! I appreciate that and I too believe that it is important to share this idea with the world!

Also love that first shot, is that you?

Yup, it's all me haha.

Awesome!!! I past through this same thing, but instead writing it was exercising, a year and a half I couldn't run a single kilometer with out stop to rest. Now I can easily run for 20 or 30 km.
We could say it's an Universal Rule, don't you think?

That's good to hear, @neuerko! Yup, I believe this rule can be applied to anything!

A writer is one who writes.
Don't let anyone tell you otherwise.
It's self defining.
An AUTHOR...is a different thing.

Yeah, might be true. And still, if I write myself a book, I am an author in my eyes. Maybe not a successful one, but still an author

if you write...you are a writer.
if you publish...you're an author.
kind of a definition thang.

Great advice buddy! thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29