My Freelance Writing Series #2 - TOPTENZ

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Hello everybody,

Continuing with my freelance writing series, today I have a more approachable option for rookies and aspiring writers out there: Toptenz. So, allow me to introduce you to "life on a short list" as the website describes itself.
181969_499674422303_5507081_n.jpg
Source

Truth be told, things appear to have change quite a bit since the days I used to write for them. I don't see a "write for us" page anymore there, which could possibly mean that these guys don't accept work from freelance writers these days, but instead pay a team of writers to do all the "dirty work."

Also, I see that they have a YouTube channel with more than a million subscribers and most likely their videos make them more money than the text articles. Well done, Shell.

Interestingly, one of my text lists has become a YouTube video with more than 432k views (not bad, but those are nothing compared to the numbers I scored with List25)


One way or another, congratulations Shell. You worked way too hard and you deserve all the money you probably make right now ;)

Compensation and Exposure

If I remember correctly the standard paycheck per list used to be $50 back in 2013-2014. There were occasional bonuses for the more successful and viewed writers, but that's something not to be discussed publicly as it was between the owner and the writers. Not sure what's going on these days, but you can always message them on Facebook if you're interested in writing for Toptenz (here) and ask for such details. Most importantly, ask if they accept material from guest writers (because they may not from the looks of it).

Pitching Procedure

Pitching and eventually writing for Toptenz used to be way easier than pitching at Listverse and Cracked. Even though the websites's quality and posts were as good (if not better in several cases) than its counterparts, thanks to the personality of its owner (Hola Shell Harris), things were so much smoother and less complicated during pitching. Like I said, if they still accept guest writing, I would suggest it as a first choice to pitch your work, as long as you come up with something really good.

My "Stuff" For Toptenz

I discovered Toptenz right after I was done writing for Listverse back in the summer of 2013. I was going through a period that I was looking for something more stable than just freelance writing and after coming in contact with Shell, I spent about five or six months writing for them and Gunaxin (I will talk about Gunaxin tomorrow).

I truly had fun writing for Toptenz and I produced some "classics" during our cooperation. Not sure about the number of views my pieces have made there, but I know I did well based on the controversy I was causing with some of them. If you see the comments of my list titled 10 Non-White Actors Who Played Previously White Characters, you will understand what I am talking about.

I am very proud for my work, however, because unlike most (if not ALL) fellow major writers of the industry (mainly from the US and the UK), I dared to touch topics that usually end careers. And I am not talking about ranting on Facebook or Steemit that you and maybe your mama will read; I am talking about websites that millions of people read on a daily basis. It takes "cohones" of steel to write such pieces when you do that thing for a living, eh?
maxresdefault.jpg
Source

Anyway, that list of non-white actors stealing white roles was meant to be the last one I wrote for Toptenz for obvious reasons (don't let the chronological order of my lists deceive you; Shell just republished at some point a couple of my most successful lists). I wrote in total 17 articles for Toptenz and I don't regret a mothafuckin thing. Here's my author's page there....Enjoy!
https://www.toptenz.net/author/theodoros-ii

Once again, if you're interested in launching a real writing career, because let's be serious here, Steemit ain't no writing platform and you will never get any real credit writing for your 50-100 friends here (maximum), Toptenz definitely worth a try. You got nothing to lose ;)

Until tomorrow! See ya!!!!!

Sort:  

Thanks for the data on TopTenz. It's good to know precise figures about gig compensations like this one.

You could have made the gig review a bit more detailed, though. I would have added to it:

Quantity of words they require per article
Payment method they use with their freelance writers
Time from pitch accepted to deadline that TopTenz gives
More detail about the type of content they accept

I have a question, if you think Steemit is not a writing platform or that it doesn't add up in a real writing carreer, then why do you write for it? I'm curious about this. Is it for exposure?

This comment is truly awesome and constructive. I see it as feedback and not your typical "steemit comment." I promise to come back and give a proper reply to all you ask tomorrow or on Monday because I am on my phone right now.

Cheers to your cohones and to going viral. (I also made a video that went viral randomly, 4 M views, but much less intellectual...)
Thanks for the tip of the website. From time to time I think about becoming a writer and then I drop it.
It's one of those things I start and I never finish. I started painting, I started yoga, origami, illustrations, ukulele, flute, hip hop, videomaking, clothes design and of course writing.
I start and then I lose focus. My passion drops and go somewhere else.
Ah.

This poem really speaks to me.

Hahahaha, at least you made me laugh

Such a great story!

greetings pal mate today I give voice to my friend who is good and beautiful post .by @adit123

This comment is the absolute proof of Steemit not being and never EVER being a decent (let alone major or top) writing platform. Steemit is the pleasure of third world "cryptonians" lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99