Back to the gym after 20 years. Nothing has changed!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Gym large font.jpg


I haven't been to a gym in more than 20 years. Let me just state, with that being said, it doesn't mean I haven't been exercising for over 20 years. I did MMA for many years, home exercises and so on and so forth. I do try to stay fit/ish and relatively healthy however this is more about what I've found returning to the gym after such a long period.

Aside from equipment upgrades I noticed that some of the Homosapiens occupying the gyms haven't evolved much at all.

Allow me to give you a bit more detail on these wonderfully curious species.

The mirror hogger:

Impressive as their physique might be at times, they have no shame in making that clear to everyone that they are impressive. Often comparing themselves to the likes of Greek Gods these Homosapiens simply love looking at themselves, to the point of wanting to caress the mirror they stand before. If caressing the mirror was a possibility though, we might well have had even bigger problems in the local gyms bathrooms. I don't even want to think about what they'd try to do to their mirror reflections.


Soccer mommies:

Often sweet, sometimes a little flirtatious however mostly snobbish.
As in "Oh my gawd, I can't believe he just said that. Ewww. He's such a douchbag. Just, ewww." Try to think of a keeping up with the Jones' kinda scenario. What amazes me most about these curious creatures is that they never seem to break a sweat. Weather they're walking the treadmill, getting on a bicycle or doing some lazy squats. The muscles that seem to be working the hardest are those located around the mouth area. I've noticed that during the average 45 minute session, there seems to be no break in that area. Perhaps there is a good reason for strengthening those muscles around the mouth...


The never does legs guy:

Likely one of the most curious of the lot. They seem to be deliberately creating an imbalance of the body, making themselves top heavy. I do wonder though, that if you accidentally had to bump into one of these species, whether it'll simply topple over.

Could it possibly be due to Superman's influence?

PubDomain

I honestly don't know but they are entertaining to watch.


The ordinaries:

They seem to be the most natural of the bunch. Coming in various shapes, sizes and fitness levels these Homosapiens, seem to me, to be the most well rounded. Often friendly, often sweaty and mostly there to better themselves, they are definitely my favourites. Going to the gym for basic purposes they are indeed a wonderful bunch.



pic 2.gif


signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

I was sort of lucky when i picked my gym..since we are all the rounded bunch. :) I must say i do find it a bit funy that there is more of women though. Id say my gym is at least 85% female.

Hmmm, a rare one that gym is, indeed.

Mere seeing the title of the post, I was expecting to see your before and after pictures

Well I do hope you enjoyed the Twist :)

Sure, i did.

You just made my day @therneau
I see them all every single day haha!

Lol, glad you enjoyed it. Only speaking from the heart :p

That was so funny @therneau, quite an apt description of the gym crowd. We had a team of body builders staying in the cottage a while back, here to enter a SA nationals event. Boy oh boy, the guys pranced around in their speedos morning noon & night, my eyes nearly popped out. There were Miss Bikinis here as well but all dainty ones, not the Amazon types. Your post had me in stitches :):)

Hehe, glad I could make you laugh. Makes me happy :)

Hehe, you forgot to mention all the personal trainers that are always lurking around like vultures.

Lol, yeah. Was thinking of that too. Perhaps I'll do a little strip of the PT's :)

Have fun at the gym, not a place for me rather be outdoors than standing watching or being watched by others around me.

Went to use the swimming pool for a short spell and found they loaded more and more people in the pool, instead of doing some nice quiet laps, you end up playing dodgems with all the bodies sharing.....

Yeah, been enjoying all the equipment. The luxuries we don't have at home. It was just a really great deal so we decided to go for it :)

Luckily there is no pool so I don't have to worry about dodgems :D

Topple over... hahahaha. Yes, we had those as well, and it is probably because of the comics influence, or they just don't have a a full body mirror to compare.
These categories are pretty much the same scheme what I used to see.

Lol, yeah, the mirror could be another possible cause. Trying to look like Superman though is like women trying to look like Barbie... it just doesn't look right.

Congratulations @therneau! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62