Longer Day #Freewrite

in #writing5 years ago

For someone fighting to stay grounded on the chain, having just a taste of the good things slowly boiling in the #newsteem... I can't help but feel like it's been an eternity since I last posted or actually contributed to the community.

This is a good sign, I feel obligated to be present.

I had a long weekend but an even longer day. It had it's firsts and highs but still longer. Where do I begin?

I didn't manage to do the five stories but something tells me I will by tomorrow evening. Working on them.

I met one of the women I admire most in this country. She founded among the most defiant kinda non-governmental organisation. One that caters for the LGBTQ community and in a country where homosexuality is punishable by 14 years in prison and homophobia is extremely high, trust me, she's a force. Her name is Wanja Muguongo. A sister to the amazing Binyavanga Wainaina though late unfortunately .

He was among the first African writers I fell in love. I thought he was fearless above everything else great that he was. Daring even. The first African proud gay man to ever see rocking a Kitenge maxi dress without apologies. He wrote about Africa in a humourous sarcastic manner.

I know that I strayed and probably the above paragraph has nothing to do with the topic which is how long the day was, you had to know that... bear with me :D

I might travel and that definitely made the day longer. I am going to the coast... For three or four days... And I know you are probably wondering what my problem is but.... I hate large masses of water and the Indian Ocean is practically the coast. I don't swim. I hate heat and it's double of what I am braving here.

Before you notice the negativity in that paragraph, let me explain.

My fear of water comes from almost drowning when I was younger and no we are never going to talk about it. I can stand small rivers but the rest no thank you. My migraines are the reason I hate the heat aside from the fact that I can't sleep in such conditions. I'll be miserable the entire time.

And please don't forget the blood thirsty mosquitoes and the possibility of coming back with malaria.

BUT.

For some reason, I also want to take a walk on sandy shore without shoes. And probably take a few photos of a quiet beach with my phone so I'll probably go.

20190823-141132.jpg

Just a photo of a 'city plan' I shot at a carpentry workshop recently :p

So... how have you been yourself?

                         **Cross Posted**

BQ.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86