Have You Checked out "Terrible Writing Advice"?

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

This post was co-published at talanhorne.com.

I don't have a lot of time or energy this week, but I do have some good information.

I'm always on the lookout for good explanations of the writing process that give insight into a lot of the more esoteric aspects of the art.

And it turns out that some of the best writing advice is Terrible Writing Advice.

No, Really


Don't walk away (I'm so terribly lonely).

But beyond that, you should also be aware that I'm talking about "Terrible Writing Advice", the YouTube channel.

This is a series of videos put out by author J.P. Beaubien, who has apparently studied a lot of the finer aspects of the craft despite only having a single, self-published book to his name, because he picks up on a lot of the mistakes that writers, both amateur and established, make when crafting their narratives.

And every lesson is easy to absorb, as it is presented in an entertaining, half-serious, and often ironic way, exploring the nuance of the art form through the medium of humor, which may remind you of some other internet personalities you may already be familiar with.

Hallmarks


And like all great YouTube channels, it is highly self-referential, with throwbacks to previous episodes and rewards for anyone who keeps up with the continuity. As well as side characters who help to create an entire climate of edutainment.

There's the Dark Lord, the sinister Secret Society, many lazy mentor figures, and also the dreaded Love Triangle.

The entire series is worth a watch, and is as entertaining as it is informative. I recommend it to anyone who has an interest in writing.

Some Choice Links


But what kind of friend would I be to just tell you about this series? And while I won't bother linking all the videos here, I believe I should at least give you some of the highlights, after which you can take in the entire channel for yourself.

To start with, you should familiarize yourself with that classic writing trope, the Mary Sue:

Then brush up on some fantasy races:

Follow it up with some Urban Fantasy:

Round that out with magic schools and evil empires:

Add a dash of intrigue plots and dark lords:

And finish it off with some character development and rivals:

That's a lot of viewing material, I know. But it's all good stuff.

Getting Around to Bigger Things


Life has been crazy for me lately, but don't worry. I've got good things in the pipeline. I hate to keep delaying any potentially good news, but that's the thing---it's only potentially good at this point.

Thank you for continuing to read and support this blog. I want to wish you all good luck in your own endeavors, whatever those might be. Your support helps me to keep pursuing my goals, and I am so thankful for all the well wishes.

Here's hoping for the best.

Sort:  

@talanhorne,
Yeah life is crazy! Actually it's really crazy thing when comparing with all other matters. But, I like it! Okay now, I am going through these videos! Thank you for sharing this!

Cheers~

Your writing is always very good and your writing skills are like a professional writer. Your video quality is very good. Thank you very much for sharing with us valuable post

Excellent post, my friend and always interesting to read your articles, in which I learn something new for myself and it's great! Great videos! Thank you @talanhorne

@talanhorne - Sir those are useful links... I'll watch these links Sir... Thank you & god bless you...

+W+

Thanks for the post, talanhorne.

This bot runs through hundreds of posts per day selecting a small percentage of posts that have exceptional positivity.

Your post has been selected and upvoted because it has a high concentration of positive words that give feel-good vibes. Thank you for creating content that focuses on the bright side.

Your post has also been entered to be included in a daily roundup of positive posts.Please comment 'yes' or 'no' if you feel that my bot is correct in its judgement of this post. Your comments will be used to determine if this article belongs in the curated list. Over time, your feedback will be used to improve the judgement of this bot

But what kind of friend would I be to just tell you about this series?

lol 😆! Potentially good news? I think I know what you mean and I hope soon it won’t be potential anymore. I hope it becomes reality finally. I really wish you the best! Let’s hope the good news you and us are waiting for sooo long already. But that’s the way it is, it’s the process and everyone has to go through this.

Even though you don’t have much energy this week, you still stopped by and let us know some potentially good news. Your post definately didn’t disappoint, I feel very good energy and that’s what counts. I just watched few of your “terrible writing advise” chapters and I find it very interesting. Thing such as protagonist being important, or even to create rival for the protagonist...

Hello @talanhorne,

Extraordinary good article with incredible writing & valuable video inputs to all writers.

~@mywhale

Hey buddy since you have an outside blog check the tag steempress.io
Read about them. You might be surprised

You're a good knowledge person about writing and it's very difficult.
Your job is excellent Blog.
Thanks @talanhorne
Have a nice day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87