Darkeyes - Fiction story

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

It was night, darkness consumed hole city. There was a bit light coming from the nearest street, but Darkeyes did't need them. He saw everything like it's a daylight. In this kingdom there wasn't a guild of Assassins so he could not freely move around the city without attracting unhappy views, and that the town guard was detaining him in custody. His craft is not welcome here, and the queen never forgives. A number of his acquaintances never returned from the task from the city where he is now. But he wasn't like others. He was the best in business.

Couple a days ago he received a letter from a trusted man. He found him in his shack far in the West Hills as he waited for him with a letter. Already in the beginning he knew that this task could not be denied because letter came from a man who saved his life and made him be what he is now. Also he knew it will be probably the hardest one to achieve success because he never before got letter with a task from Teacher.

As he assumed, there was only one information, a name of the person. High Priest of The White Temple. Huh man, harder then hard, but it needed to be done. Darkeyes never ask questions, never doubted decisions. Like many times before, he packed fast, took his horse and started journey.

Now he is on the roof watching his target. Before coming here he tried to recall everything he heard, saw, and knew about the Priest himself. The trouble is that he is probably one of the few who are able to defend himself against such an attack. He has incredibly big skill when it comes to magical rituals, it does not diminish the knowledge that he possesses from the battle's skill. The only way to kill such a man is to fight the chest in the chest.

For now he is only watching, to see who are his guards, what's he doing when he's not in the Temple or at queen's side. Making plans was a key, so Darkeyes watched and remembered every step and every move. High Priest was a man of influence, he's advisor of the Queen and a General of a White Temple army. Important target, like many before, but with a a little difference, and I'm not sure what that difference is.

In one moment Priest came to the window glancing across the city, watching the roofs of smaller buildings beneath his villa. And so it all happened in a moment, the priest's gaze met with mine, and at that moment I knew that he sees me as I see him. He did not alarm his guards, but as he saw through the darkness and looked in the right direction, I knew that he knew who I was. Then I noticed something that I did not before, a little mark above his right eye and his eyes without pupils.

Just like mine but no, that can't be true. Only I have that mark and only I have eyes like that in the whole world. Teacher told me that I was an orphan left at the School's doorsteps. Is it possible what I saw? Too much coincidence. And so, something in me broke, something primal. I escaped from the roof, throwing another look at him. His gaze spoke so much that books could be written from that view.

Omniscient look of his eyes hunted me for the next half an hour while I was trying to get out of town. I managed to get unnoticed by coming to the huts near the gate of the city, I quickly mounted a horse and galloped through a little path in a dark pine forest.

Perhaps I walked on the path darker than the one I was until now? Maybe everything is changing for me? He unconsciously started a way to School. So he will get answers, or die, looking for them.

The primal thing in him, more it was in it, the more and more it grew. Days will become harder and more complex for Darkeyes.

Image 1

Sort:  

Congratulations @stormlight24! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86