Modest Movie Review- Bronson

in #writing7 years ago

bronson_movie_poster_02.jpg

One night, about two weeks ago, I was going through my hulu account and looking for something else to tickle my true crime fascination. I happened upon this very striking image of what looked like a circus strong man with wrapped hands. I was instantly intrigued.


And so, I found myself watching this movie, completely unaware that this man existed. I can't believe I had never heard of Charles Bronson (No, not that one). A man that rose to infamy as "Britain's Most Violent Prisoner". A man that truly has become a victim of the system.

However, I will not touch on that just yet. After watching this film, I found myself absolutely fucking enthrall with the man and have gone on to read as much about him as I can. I even have some of his books coming, courtesy of my lovely friend @lauralemons. but for now, we will talk about this fantastic movie.

94263147_1280x720.jpg

The first thing I would love to address about this movie is the amazing acting of Tom Hardy. He was completely unrecognizable in this role. He really shines and gave me a whole new appreciation for the craft. Bravo, good sir!

Oh, and bravo to your penis, that we see quite a lot of! NICE.


While watching this movie something felt vaguely familiar. I was hearkening back to something that I really enjoyed but couldn't quite put my finger on at the moment. By the mid point of the movie it hit me square in the face. A Clockwork Orange!

This movie is crisp, and drab, and the background is just as detailed and relevant as the foreground. This movie was a completely different viewing experience for me because I found myself emotionally invested early on. At times, I felt like I was there. In the dirt and the grime and the wretched cells.

Only to be transported to a theatre where Bronson makes small cameos, performing snippets in a dramatic fashion on stage to highlight turning points in his life and incarceration. It also aided as a small comic relief. Included in these magical cut aways, sometimes briefly musical, is actual footage of roof top protests he held.


Until I got to this point, I didn't realize that there isn't much that I can really reveal about the plot of the movie without giving away the unbelievable life he leads and truly spoiling the film.

Here are some things I CAN tell you, though.
  • Charles Bronson, now Charles Salvador, has spent 34 years in prison, almost all of those being in solitary confinement.
  • He once even occupied the Hannibal Lecter cell ( yeah, that is a real thing).
  • He has led a riot stark naked, his only accessory was a spear fashioned from a broom or mop handle.
  • He has NEVER killed anyone.
  • Oh, and he is fucking goddamn hilarious.

In closing of my "review" I will just urge you to watch the movie yourself. You will not be disappointed in the slightest. Here is a image of the REAL Charles Bronson.

SNN1221B-380_752401a.jpg

Soon, I plan to do a VERY in-depth blog about Charles Salvador, formerly Bronson, for everyone to enjoy and learn more about this enigmatic man. So stay tuned!

Follow me for more funny stories, true crime, the macabre, and subversive old lady crafts!

Image credits:

  • Movie poster via collider.com
  • trailer still via Vimeo
Sort:  

Sick film! If you haven't watch Peaky Blinders it's one of the best TV series if you enjoy Tom Hardy!

I've got it on my list to watch! Any other recommendations? I love to add stuff to my lists!

You know what I do lol if you don't mind zombies watch 28days and 28 weeks later. Both are very good a zombie apocalypse in the UK directed by Danny Boyle!

Yes! I love the 28 movies! Fast, rapid zombies are the fucking best. I recently found out through a friend that there are COMICS! How crazy is that?!

What no way I'll try pick them up on Amazon or somewhere! Take it your a fan of the walking deads? Even fear the walking dead is good

If you do, let me know how they are!
I am a fan of TWD. I haven't finished the comics yet because I've been savoring them, and I do enjoy my AMC zombie soap opera! I have all of the Fear dvr'd but haven't had a chance to watch yet.
I gotta ask, are there any cross over character cameos?

Not that I know of there is no relevance between the two I don't think. Fear the walking dead just concentrates on the outbreak to start with and come season 3 it's still early on but out of control. At first it's hard to like any of the characters but they do grow on you!

Okay, you've got me pumped, now!
All in all, which show have you come to prefer in the end if you had to pick?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28