Reality Check... Maybe Not

in #writing6 years ago

pexels-photo-356147.jpeg

Photo From Pexels

Today I wallowed in self pity, yes, I sat, a bit down and blue, and wondered why I even bother. I've always been use to writing on sites that at least have someone stop by and leave some sort of comment. Whether it be good or bad never made any difference to me, I've always believed any feedback is good. It's the true lifeblood of any site.

Don't get me wrong, I love having upvotes, though they seem to be few and far between, but hearing from people is great, and much better than just seeing a thumbs up now and then. It actually gives one a sense of community, the interaction...

I started my day by deactivating my Steempress plugin on my blog, I'd had enough of Steemit and the blockchain... I even went as far to write a friend and tell him I'd planned on moving on, I'd already found a new home to place my little bits and pieces. I since have activated the plugin once again.

As I sat in self pity, I thought about some of the people I'd met here so far, many so much better at writing and producing good quality content, and I look at their numbers and wonder WHY? Why are they not receiving the support they deserve? So it was then I realized they are sticking it out, so why shouldn't I?

Any online community depends on support of its members, and sadly every community has the Me! Me! people. You ask what or who are the Me people? they are the people that basically fuck things up for others. They form their little cliques and they all run around upvoting themselves and fuck anybody else. Much like many of the whales here do, I'm told... I really don't know. I saw it with many sites, and those sites have DIED! They care only of themselves and their support is only of them posting and collecting and not bothering with anyone or anything else. Something this site seems to have an overabundance of.

They are similar to the follow me and I'll follow you people. You know, the ones that only comment on your post to ask you to follow them back if they follow you. I hate those people, and I'll tell you why. I have no interest in knitting, so why would I follow someone who only posts about knitting? Do you get the gist of what I'm saying? Why would you fill your feed with posts of things you have no interest in? I'm not saying that you may write something different sometimes and i wouldn't read it, i read what interests me and it doesn't matter who writes it.
sheep.jpeg

I also have common courtesy when it comes to someone taking the time to comment on my posts. I answer the comments! Imagine that! I also comment on posts I upvote, because it sure is nice to know why someone took the time to actually upvote my posts. I never upvote without reading the posts either. Why would I? It may be some piece of garbage, why would I endorse that? If you upvote without taking that little bit of effort and reading, you are actually doing that person a disservice as far as I am concerned.

So now I have run out of words, my little self pity turned a bit into a little pent up anger, for that I am sorry. Although I believe a rant can actually save your sanity. If I have offended, well, shit happens, get over it. Above all, READ, COMMENT, SUPPORT those who do take the time to write and post. You don't have to upvote everything you see, there is plenty here to interest everyone!

Sort:  

Congratulations @skiponline! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Just stick it out buddy. 😀

It is the sticking it out that is the hardest, it is a quiet time for the platform I think. It's good to have a rant sometimes :0)

yes sir, after, I noticed my blood pressure was actually at normal! If I haven't mentioned it, I really appreciate you and all who do, that stop in, and take the time to comment, it's GREAT! Thank you.

You can't beat a bit of blood pressure normalisation!! :0D

yup, that's the truth!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65180.67
ETH 2632.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84