The Knowledge... Finally arrived.

in #writing6 years ago

It's the end of the world as we know it.

So opens the first chapter of the book that arrived in my mail box today.

The Knowledge: How to rebuild our world after an apocalypse by Lewis Dartnell.

20180405_194344-864x1152.jpg

I'm no prepper,

I'm not of the grid, I couldn't raise cattle or build a hut, in fact I'm one of the least handy blokes I know, hell my beautiful wife @insideoutlet owns more tools than I do.

Melissa_Bachman_with_Hunting_Rifle_(2).jpg source

I'm an optimism.

Perhaps more clearly I'm a transhumanists, one of those people that believe in our technology, innovation, our thirst for knowledge and understanding and personally believe that we should do all we can to apply it to the benifit of man.

After all the meek shall inherit the Earth but the bold will master the stars.

So why buy the book?

The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.
William Arthur Ward.

As I was saying I love our technology but lets be truly honest in the event that we lost it all tomorrow due to global nuclear war, an asteroid impact, or true financial melt down I think its fair to say 90% of the first world would be right up the proverbial creek.

kayak-936190_1280.jpg
Source

Paper is the safety net.

Short of baked clay tablets or walls to save our knowledge like the Epic of Gilgamesh paper is our best bet, and gathering information that relates to skills I know I don't possess is my way of curbing my optimism.

Perhaps I will write a review when I am done.

Kind regards

Peter Shai-hulud.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by shai-hulud from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Depending on the size of the asteroid, if one of them hit, we will probably never have to worry about anything ever again XD

J is a wannabe prepper. He's got a bit of an uphill battle though as I'm no help whatsoever, and would probaby die within the first two days of zombie apocalypse happening XD

goatsig

Prepping is hard feels like you need a ton of money to do it right.

I think city living reduces your survivability pretty hard you might survive the first problem but then you have to survive other people.

This is probably part of the reason why J wants to move out to the middle of nowhere (the other being so we can run amok on a large tract of land) XD

goatsig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77