The BEST Ideas in Jordan Peterson's Book "12 Rules for Life: An Antidote to Chaos" Part 3

in #writing6 years ago

Attempting to communicate the lessons, perspective, and wisdom this book offers is very difficult without simply re-writing those passages.

I've learned this after going through my own copy, and referencing my highlighted sections which I thought were particularly useful.

775_A7069-5845-45_D2-8585-99_CABCDED4_F7.jpg

Here are some of those key sentences, along with the corresponding pages, that I will refer back to in the years to come:

Page 87

"Talking yourself into irrelevance is not a profound critique of Being.
It's a cheap trick of the rational mind."

Page 107

"Faith is not the childish belief in magic. That is ignorance or even willful blindness."

Page 127

"Old age and treachery can always overcome youth and skill."

Page 141

"Every gingerbread house has a witch inside it that devours children."

Page 158

"The wisdom of the past was hard-earned, and your dead ancestors may have something useful to tell you."

Powerful words, all of them.

The next post will begin with my favorite quote from legendary psychoanalyst Carl Jung; a quote that was included in Jordan Peterson's book on Page 180.

Have a great weekend everyone!

Thank you for reading.

@scan0017 😘

Sort:  

I've been meaning to read up a bit more on ol' Jordan Peterson. Thanks for the nudge! ;)

Faith is not the childish belief in magic. That is ignorance or even willful blindness

I agree. Faith is the bird that feels the light when the dawn is still dark.

Some powerful words for sure. Great writings . 12 Rules for Life, I am going to buy this one ASAP.

Old age and treachery can always overcome youth and skill."

Experience is best guide for human...

People who are young especially those who are teenagers make lot of mistakes ... they trust those who are cheaters , dishonest

While as old people.... they know whom they should trust because of these experiences of life

Que buenas citas mi amigo scann, a mi tambien me encanta mucho la literatura, espero tengas un excelente dia.

Ohhhhh, no sabia que te gustara leer amigo, que bien, lo mejor es cuando la lectura nos deja enseñanzas.

Those are some great quotes. I think I need to get that book.👍

Those are some good ones for sure. JP came out of no where it seems, but I am happy about that. He has a way of saying things that are so obvious (to me anyway), but most people haven't actually gone beyond first base of why they think the way they do. I'm gonna have to get me a copy.

İt is wonderful. You are awesome @scan0017

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85