The Reflection In The Mirror (Fiction)

in #writing6 years ago

She was looking at her reflection in the mirror. Carefully examining the past that left its marks upon her face. Every tiny wrinkle was like a trench that hid so many memories inside it. All those stories she could read along the little cracks that decorated her cheeks, medals of the life she had lived. 

As her gaze moved away from her strict chin she noticed her eyes. The dark circles, the fine lines at the corner, they looked much deeper when she smiled, but she didn't care. She loved it when she smiled. He loved it when she smiled.

Time had undoubtedly drawn a beautiful picture over her face. Time... She was grateful for the life she lived, she was grateful for the experience she gained, she was grateful she was still there... breathing.

- What are you looking at, Mum?

Miranda seemed to suddenly wake up from a trance...

- Nothing, dear. I was just lost in my thoughts.

- Well, my lovely Narcisus, do you want to hear what we learnt at school about mirrors?

- What did you learn at school about mirrors?

- They are actually showing us the past.

- I can tell that by the wrinkles on my face, darling.

- No, Mum, literally. The reflection you see on them is actually a past image. The light that's reflected upon your face hits the mirror and travels all the way back to your eyes in fragments of a second. The time difference is too small but in fact you're older than the moment you're witnessing in there. You can never see the "real" the "now" face of you.

- Hmm, quite odd but it makes sense, my little wise scientist, Miranda smirks and gently touches her daughter's cheek.

Past, present or future, she didn't care about the image in a cold frame. Deep down in her soul she felt a bliss she was not going to spoil.


What do you think of the face in your mirror?

Reflect upon it ;)


*Original images and story by @ruth-girl - Steemit, 2018

Thank you so much for your time!

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!

Sort:  

This got me thinking. I've never taken time to stare into the mirror, but I just did. How time changes people's faces. I'm looking quite different now

We don't pay much attention, but there comes a moment when you see a face and try to recognize yourself in this face...
Thanks for giving this a read @samminator! :)

That's so true. We can never see the now. Its always a delayed version. Infact we can never see ourselves too. Its always a reflection.
I see you write a lot of fiction, I enjoy your fiction.
Inspired from one of your back dated fiction story I have written a story too. Your story was eye for an eye if you remember.
Would be honoured if you read it and share your feedback on my writing skills. Its my first ever story. Do.let me know.if its worth please.

Oh, I am humbled by that! I will read it right now! :)

reminded me this song :)

😃 🎵 🎶🎵🎵🎶

In a fiction, I have also got poetic flavor. I bet you also write poetry. Truly amazing how you take a simple topic and painted on your canvas. My favourite is -"As her gaze moved away from her strict chin she noticed her eyes. The dark circles, the fine lines at the corner, they looked much deeper when she smiled, but she didn't care. She loved it when she smiled. He loved it when she smiled."

Thanks @rifkan!! I do write poetry on occasion, but mostly in Greek. :)

After reading your fiction I didn't feel that English is your second language:)

Well! This is hard! I wish I could stay young forever :)
I see those first wrinkles of facial expression.
I get depressed thinking about how I've grown up... I find it terrifying.
But that's me and my psychological issues :P

Don't mind me, I will get over it.

I can totally feel you! I am trying to come to terms with time and I don't know if I will ever make it...

This was stirring. My reflection tells me I've come a long way.

And you have so much more wonderful things to experience! :)

with a mirror then we will know who we are and can compare with others

I like your thinking. We can see our differences and accept them or change what we don't like :)

That's so true

Hello @ruth-girl , I was designed to give advice to "steemit" users.

I recommend to increase this;

The most winning bid bot in the last 24 hours is ✅ "upme"

You can enter "steembottracker.com" to find more offers.

You can make "Resteem" and advertise to the followers of the whale accounts.

"Resteem Bot" for you;

@byresteem has 25.500 Followers + 7000 Sp + Upvote with min +55 accounts.

I am a bot, I can not answer the comment. I hope I could help. Good luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94