Sort:  
  1. I greatly enjoy non-fiction books which include the author's perspective, as it provides a deeper layer of story-telling which often makes the topic more captivating and relatable. I don't believe it is self-indulgent to include yourself in your work, especially if it helps propel the story.
  2. Useful, relatable, perspective-shifting, honest non-fiction is my favorite kind. I enjoy reading about a person's personal hero's journey of self-discovery and exploration.

Thanks for prompting this self-reflection and for sharing your process. Your writing resonates with the kind of work I'd like to create.

Awesome. Perfect. That is pretty much exactly what I needed to hear (read).

Thank you. 🙏

Loading...
  1. The subjective element of the authors own thought and inner growth needs to be somewhat reflected in the book to interest me personally. But I have read many fiction books that were utterly non-fiction to me cause the deeper philosophical/spiritual elements of his characters reflect truths and ideas that belong to his own experience and growth.

2.The only non-fiction books I can truly remember impacting me was Many P Halls-Secret Teachings of All Ages, basically research into occult and esoteric practices and mans inner development, and carl jungs red book. Otherwise books that impacted me the most have been fiction such as Terry Pratchetts Discworld Novels. Neil Gaiman Sandman Comics,(very profound), paulo coelho the alchemist, alejandro jodorowsky the incal and the technopriests (both comics).

I can't seem to seperate fiction too much from non+fiction. Often times even more personal and deep a fiction novel, than a non-fiction one. You lay bare your inner worlds in fiction :)

I did publish through blurb 2 years ago a compilation of all my poems and short texts I had collected over the years from age 18 until 25. Very turbulent times, but life thankfully only kicks our ass so that we may grow. But at that time I was motivated and inspired to do it, I didn't envision being a perfectionist about it either, goal was just to have it out there so perhaps someone might benefit from something they read in it. Handed out about 100 free copies at the time from my saved money, I was more inspired to share it than to sell it.

If I were you I would do what I feel most inspired and passionate about. And you know best what that is, the end result of a book done with such energy is going to be the most authentic and inspiring. :)

LOL...

just left the other comment, referencing Manly P. Hall. Then this.

Classic.

And great feedback. Thank you. 🙏

Well.... It is indeed a transition phase in your life. I know some of the most valuable artist here who are just not able to cross $2 and then I see some of the shit post backed by the community. Indeed, these blogs are going to be lost in the matter of few days and books remain forever. I encourage your idea of writing a book.

Now, Let's explore what to write on....

In the last post you were talking about learning by yourself and that is the most influential sentence. No matter how well a book is written, it's success depends on various factors. Once you decide to write a book you have to keep publishing consistently irrespective of the fact that it is appreciated or not. You have to keep on experimenting with your choices and see which choice is suitable for an audience and you. It's a never ending process. Yes, it is a transition phase and I encourage you to write on a topic that you care the most and if it is the same subject that readers want to read, your book is a hit.
I would like to go through some of your history posts and see where I was influenced the most, it might help you in knowing the reader's perspective and better choose a subject of your book.
Keep experimenting ....

If there's a book that you want to read, but it hasn't been written yet, then you must write it."
--Toni Morrison

You gave a very good reply @hash-tag, knowing what your readers are interested in is very important before starting up a book, if he knows what they like to read, he'll somehow connect it with what he likes to write about. Then trust me, the book will definitely be a hit just like you said... Very good suggestion

okay, this might be an important part of a person's life, where we have to choose and really determine, steemit and write books, which will be better in life. Sometimes we find it difficult to explain what is the material of choice at this time, but all the choices that are made are one of the best minds at the time. In fact, sometimes we don't know which one will determine our next life, yes, even no one is able to predict the situation of a person for tomorrow, unless it's just a coincidence. Starting to compose words from an idea is the best thing, moreover we have a million ideas that will be compressed into great works that will be watched by many people. This is amazing, and even extraordinary for a choice. Not for fame, we don't need to be known by many people, but we need to help a lot of people from the work we share, however small it is that is important to be useful, at least we can make the reader smile from some of the ideas we have.


  1. Personally I prefer reading non-fiction books written directly from the author's point of view, of course with the language he has, using satirical language, and many use parable language which does not directly reveal the actual content of the writing, because it will invite a number of signs ask for the next article.

  2. As a quality, nonfiction books are able to awaken a reader from the roar of adversity, even this reading is able to move my person to write. It was incredible.

Thank you for this brother @rok-sivante

What a great feedback, we don't know what will be in the future and we can't tell what coincidence will pop out of what... Just like you said, "an idea can be compressed into words and made as a book, and you don't need to be known by the whole world, you just need to help a lot of people". This is a very nice one from you @pojan...

waaw, thank you for your response, I'm glad to see you interact with my comments. @morahn

You're welcome sir...

  1. I prefer the perspective of the "I, me, and my" because sounds more perosnal

  2. When the characters are deep and profund with a good background.

As to the first question, I think it depends on the subject matter. I may find it dry if a historian spent a lot of time talking about his or her research methods or something. On the other hand, if it is a subject that is personal to you or one which benefits from your commentary then that can be very interesting.

I majored in lit and I spent much more time with fiction but I view all writing as art. For me, the difference between good art and bad art is whether it generates a response in the viewer, reader, or whatever. Personally, I also like it when authors of non-fiction put a lot of effort into the sound and flow of their work and concern themselves with the entertainment of the reader. An interesting subject can be made boring and a boring one interesting depending on how they are presented.

Something new from @rok-sivante i never knew the writer behind a great musician. Reading the writers prospective is going to be new experience...i too read some books mostly while travelling..

  • love to read non fiction stories, so that to withstand myself in certain situation . Something direct from author help you to relate with the situation.

  • I mostly read from Indian author and they keep the readers interested with some positive approach be it humour or suspence they like the way depicts the scenarios.

I too wanted to write something. I have a good acxount of experince and fascinated story. Would write some day.

Posted using Partiko Android

Non fiction books are quite relatable and provide a deeper meaning than most genres. From a philosophical standpoint, they are most enjoyable and I see no reason why you cannot share your perspective with us using them.

I don't have a particular preference, just depends on what am looking for at that time - entertainment or reflection

@rok-sivante, There is an line as Life is an book. So in my opinion when we want to read an book then we find Journey of ups and downs, happiest moments, breakdown aspects, surprises, learning moments and personal perceptions towards life. And i strongly believe that in this aspect first of all ask yourself, which point inspired you to write this book then for sure, that one point will encourage to write other aspects too.

And here, i want to give one suggestion as, you write in a way that, you are narrating your life to your innerself, means you have to remember all those moments which really move you till this date.

And i believe that Fiction story just push us towards the imagination but when you write what happend in your journey no matter who will read it and where will read it, whenever people want references then they can redirect towards your book because your book is based upon the true instances and in my opinion they will not going to redirect towards the fiction because it's an imagination.

And in my opinion if you write something, it should give the long lasting effect means there would be some moments when we match the situations with the words which we read somewhere, so whatever we are writing they should connect in time to time in practical like and in my opinion in that way, an book's value get extended and it becomes companion at times.

So, in my opinion write out all emotions whatever you've had in life and in this you can add one more VERSION as how you want to see your journey in future, because documented future goals can light up that Enthusiastic aspect towards our life.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16