You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What It Feels Like To Be A Struggling Middle-Aged Author With No Plan B

in #writing8 years ago

Without having lived that, can totally appreciate how frustrating that must be. Seems like this is going well for you though :)

I've just started blogging myself and was wondering - as a writer, would you mind taking a look? I get from the post you're pretty busy, but any feedback would be much appreciated, as the article I've written has had a pretty wide readership but not a lot of response. Thanks in advance :)

http://amendtheagenda.blogspot.co.uk/2016/07/destroying-nhs-and-young-minds-why-are.html

Sort:  

I feel for your pain @rachelwd. I hope things will improve in the UK for Junior Doctors. I admire your inspiration for doing this work and I'm sorry to hear how you lost your Dad.

I think you’re an excellent writer. You’re getting readership, which is wonderful, but there are a few methods to incite engagement from readers, one is formatting. If you look at mainstream media articles certain quotes or blocks of text that they want to stand out are in a larger font. This draws the reader’s attention and also breaks up long posts so their brain processes them in manageable chucks instead of one long post. Also you can experiment with questions in your posts like, “What do you think about such-and-such?” or “Tell me how you feel about this?”, this makes the post seem more conversational to the reader, it will prompt more engagement in the form of replies. To prompt shares you must write with honest, raw emotion, write from your soul, unfiltered. This takes guts. You know it's a good post if you feel uneasy before you hit "post". This always gets reads, comments, and shares, this is how posts go viral. I hope that helps!

Thank you so much for taking the time @ericvancewalton ! Truly appreciated.

You're welcome! I hope it helped in some way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59214.59
ETH 2524.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48