Is Steemit giving us more time and lesser rules to obey so we can be more free and creative when we write?

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

I decided to start a blog for myself in the Dutch language because a lot of necessary information about crypto-currency is unavailable in our native language.

However many people still prefer to read in Dutch because they are not capable of understanding the really complex stuff in English. I wrote an article about steem today for the same reasons. 

It might be interesting stuff but after so many times explaining the same thing it gets boring and I would rather spend my time absorbing new stuff. 

So my idea was to make a blog, write everything down in Dutch and give everyone links so they can read it instead.  This was a few months ago and back then It seemed like a great idea and so I rented a host, bought a domain name , completed the wordpress installation and I even managed to get a theme that I really liked. I was really happy about the results, the blog was done, I could finally stop repeating myself.


            


Now that I could finally start writing I immediately went to it. I had my first title sort out and I was writing my first pages when a friend did send me a link about how to optimize your blog, he said it was really necessary if I wanted a good blog. I knew almost nothing about SEO and keywords so I started investigating. 

It was a good guide, full of interesting tips about how to be a professional blogger and attract thousands of readers. It explained how to bring traffic to your blog and get people to read your content. I had read the whole thing and then I had started to investigate more stuff until I realized that I was doing it all wrong and I had to start over again or no one would read my posts.  

A few weeks ago after reading and watching way to many books and video ’s mixed with the usual distractions and obligations of life I did not manage to post a single thing on my blog. I had been busy all the time but It never came to actual writing. There was always something I had to add or tweak. I had gotten distracted about to many things that had nothing to do why I had wanted to start a blog in the first place. 

Having to many rules to play can be such a killer for creativity. 

Something like writing or painting has to flow naturally, it’ s like dancing but well you also got people that feel like dancing is counting steps. I guess there is something for everyone and maybe that is what Steem might be creating for creative people, a system that allows us to experiment in freedom without bothering to much about the “other things”. Steem could become a safe haven for many artists.

          

I am only 40 years young but  I managed to learn a few things about myself and my creative process. It takes a while before I am really making good stuff, before I really get into the flow, meditation really helped to speed up that process. You know when that left brain still to active compared to the right part. Once I get in that state I am like a waterfall and I can stay there for days, I love it and it is addictive. 

In that state only the process of creating matters, it could be anything that I am doing at that time but the everything fades away. There is no more attention left to share with anything else, every bit of energy is flowing into my work. At that moment everything becomes a distraction of the thing I am doing, no people, no food, no sleep, nothing matters, nothing matters but the process. 


                


If Steem allows me to have these moments of freedom, where I can just create without any other stuff to worry about, just finishing what you want to write down and then post it for the world to read. To know that people will read it and spread your words if it is interesting. This is already priceless. To have moments in which we can create away of all worries and to have an audience that is willing to spend their attention  reading our work is already a very big reward. Of course there is also the monetary value and the earnings of the site can be used to create more of  that liberated time where we can be completely creative without boundaries. More time  where we can  be writing and creating quality content to give back to steem. Imagine the boost this can give to literature if suddenly all those people can have the freedom to develop their craft. 

Who knows maybe steem by itself is already enough to create a new renaissance of writers!

So now that I have been here for two weeks I finally started writing and now there is no way I want to go back to having my own blog. I want to write here and maybe I might still use the blog for a small intro and link to my posts here on steem. I don't see the point of spending to much of my time and energy on the blog if I can just post here. I can completely focus on the creative process while having interactions with other people and just enjoying the process.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34