Blood on the Moon - serialised EXCLUSIVE for Steemit! - 91

in #writing7 years ago


Blood On The Moon Cover

Amazon link

My third novel was finished and published in time for Halloween 2016 and I had a launch at Waterstone's at Sheffield.

The full book cover, done by the wonderful, talented, brilliant Paul Mudie

Other Images from Pixabay or Google (Free Usage)


Darius was furious at the failure of the riots and had to then focus on his main project as a means to keep from doing something rash and killing someone.

Jessica’s mood swings were bothering him.

She was a ball of absolute fury at the drop of a hat at one moment and a despondent depressive the next.

He was beginning to wonder if she could be suffering from a bi-polar condition and his frustration that he had yet another damned Throwback that had gone insane, just as his experiments were coming to fruition gave cause for everyone in the building to avoid him.

Jessica could fly into an uncontrollable rage one time when he arrived and another time ignore his presence.

He began to watch and to try to analyse the reasons behind her anger. He finally gave in and had a camera installed in secret and he soon found that Jessica had frequent visitors.

Darius could soon pick out a pattern that when one visitor went in to talk to Jessica, if he went in soon after, she would be enraged.

Darius wanted to know why Selene’s visits would induce such violent rages in his study subject.

He went so far as to have another camera installed so that he could see from different angles.

It seemed that all she did was to sit close to Jessica’s cage, watching her.

She didn’t seem to be speaking to her and so therefore wasn’t being malicious by telling her lies or even harmful truths about him. Selene was sitting and looking at Jessica and Jessica was looking back.

Selene was the key to the furious outbursts but since his attempt at getting a confession from her and Falco, Selene had changed towards him and he had a theory that Jessica was absorbing Selene’s animosity.

The reason that Selene was such a frequent visitor to Jessica was because she felt better after off-loading her troubles and woes, even if it was done subconsciously.

Jessica was furious when Darius came to visit because that was how Selene felt towards him and Jessica wasn’t in a position to utilise her human instincts to hide that fact, whereas Selene was.

The other visitor would wait. Darius recognised him and he formed a plan.

Darius was also concerned about Falco. He had been avoiding speaking with his boss since the truth drug debacle and Darius was beginning to think that he had made a grave error in listening to Vladimir and his suspicions about Selene and Falco. It had solved nothing and had only brought trouble about his head when he needed less, not more.

Darius made a decision; he called Falco and Selene to another meeting to lay his cards on the table.

In preparation though, he needed a bit of theatrical diversion.

When Selene and Falco arrived at Darius’s office, Riley was standing in one corner and Darius was seated in his usual chair behind his desk.

“Take a seat.” Darius said as they entered the office.

“I’d rather not. I have bad memories of the last time I accepted your hospitality Darius.” Falco said.

Selene nodded and walked over to the stationery cupboard and opened it. She saw nothing but reams of paper and piles of envelopes and office supplies and she closed the door.

She returned to Falco’s side and they both stood waiting.

Vladimir entered the room through the same door that Falco and Selene had and he went to stand by Riley.

Selene and Falco were on alert by this time and both were tense and ready for whatever Darius could throw at them.

Selene looked up at Falco and he looked back to her with an expression of determination on his face.

Her expression matched his and they were ready to inflict damage if they were to be attacked.

“I really do wish that you’d sit down. There is no need for tension and mistrust. I apologise for how I treated you and I can promise that I’ll never behave that way again. I am ashamed that I doubted you but that has been thoroughly cleared up as far as my misgivings are concerned. The only thing left is for me to regain your trust in me. I think that I’ve found a way to re-establish that trust if you’ll allow me?”

Again, Selene and Darius looked at each other as if they were able to communicate by telepathy. Falco shrugged and nodded to Selene and they both looked to Darius again.

“I’m afraid I’m not convinced, Darius. You’ve never been known to apologise to anyone, so why now?” Selene asked.

“Ah, Selene, you’re as forthright as ever. I do admire your straight-talking manner and I shall give you the answers in good time. What I can tell you right now is that Vladimir had reason to believe that one or both of you were disloyal and was leaking information to the Lycaeon. That reasoning, though sound in theory was flawed. You have both proven yourselves loyal to me, hence the apology. When I’m wrong, I say so.”

Sort:  

This is what happens to paranoid people, not knowing who to trust, who is loyal, and Darius seems to be losing it. He has figured out and understands why Jessica reacts to him in the manner she does, but passes it all off to his attempt to truth drug Selene. So who is going to slap who silly coming up, Riley slapping on Vladimir, or Vladimir slapping on Riley? If Darius thinks Vladimir set him up with Selene and Falco, and thus is wrong about Riley in his assessment then Vladimir is not going to be a happy puppy. But when it comes to bad men losing it, all bets are totally off.

Excellent summing up there! Thank you!

Couldn't read this chapter in the afternoon, so I'm catching up right now. Now it is not only a part of my morning but also an evening routine.

Haha! I spent more than 12 hours at this, yesterday ;) It's a full day for you too? ;)

I've worried before about people setting up secret cameras to spy on me. Although I feel the most the would find on the video is me picking my nose once in a while haha

Hahaha! That's a horror story in itself! ;)

There is nothing like good writing to calm your mind ..
And all the rest remained to read and enjoy...

Thank you, you're right, of course :)

I completely adored it. Much obliged to you Michelle for the endeavors you have made in composing this intriguing novel. I am trusting a similar best work from you later on too.
Upvoted and resteemed

I absolutely loved it. Thank you Michelle for the efforts you have made in writing this interesting novel. I am hoping the same best work from you in the future as well.

Thank you. Thanks for your comment, too.

Iooks like a horror type of novel,i will check it out

It is indeed a horror type novel :)

If you want to check it out in full, the links go up numerically.

https://steemit.com/writing/@michelle.gent/blood-on-the-moon-serialised-exclusive-for-steemit-1

https://steemit.com/writing/@michelle.gent/blood-on-the-moon-serialised-exclusive-for-steemit-2

Change the number at the end to go to the next instalment.

Have fun :)

@harbecity, take a look at this post for where you can read the full novel - for free.

what an interesting novel, i love reading novels a lot i must say its nice sharing this. Steemit is the best place if not for steemit i would be a job seeker. i must say i love steemit cause it is informative, motivating, and life's changing.

I'm pleased you're enjoying my work. Thank you for commenting :)

an intriguing part in which Darius find out the reasons for Jessica's mood swings. It was interesting to read, especially as the continuations of the last part. It was interesting that by the end he realized that he was wrong about infidelity. I'm intrigued by the sequel :)
thanks, I liked it, as always :)

Thank you. I'm reading this again as I post it and I've forgotten a lot of the story and I'm finding it great to read it again.

Thanks for commenting.

Fantastic story. Continue composing.
Upvoted and resteemed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.46
ETH 2656.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81