4days till impact, ...what would you do

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

The brown leather rocky chair on Grandpa's verandah was his favourite of all the furnitures that he had accumulated in his lifetime. I have to admit that I always had this fondness for it. I remember how on many occasions, Brownie saved me from trouble. Any time I needed headsway with something, i would just wait till Grandpa was fast asleep and go have my sit in brownie. By morning, i would already know what I was going to do....

image

It was 5years after Grandpa passed away. All had return home for his remembrance- children, grandchildren, great grandchildren, aunties, uncles,....the family house was currently bubbling. Babies crying, kids running about, adults bantering,...I just could not take any more of it.

image

As i bursted into the verandah, i immediately picked out brownie on the extreme right.
Perhaps this is just what I need,

image

................

"Mike!..Mike!..Miiii-kk-e!!?"
I was immediately jolted back to consciousness and turned to look at the standing figure at the verandah's entrance. It was my big aunt.
"Auntie,"
She looked at me with suspicion.
"What is bothering you, Mike?"
"Auntie its nothing. I just miss Grandpa so much."
"Hmm. My dear, we all miss him too but he's long gone. Be rest assured that he's in a good place, resting. Please try not to think about it too much, my child....... I came to inform you that dinner is already set. Come and eat."
"Alright ma, I'll join you down stairs soon."

Oh! If the only they knew

image

Three days ago, i had received a call from Peter, my closest friend. Peter worked with the National Security Advisory team in Savanah. Peter was the definition of ecstasy; full of life and very high-spirited. But on this day, Peter sounded rather down, a bit panicky too. I pressed him until he let the cat out of the bag.

image

image

A meteor was already on course to earth...tops, 3days till impact and from all permutations it was going to very severe. I asked Peter why this information wasn't already made public. Obviously, it was a matter of security and it was done in a bid to assensuate fear and panic in the country.

I must admit that it's been difficult keeping it to myself.

In the past two days, I had made more than 100 calls. I guess it hit me that this may be my last days. I needed to mend fences with a lot of people (I had it coming for me). After the calls, I had thought I would feel better. Lies!

So, I began to frequent the State's library. I just needed to bury my head in something. One day, I came across this book on natural disasters. I sat with it and I must confess that it was worth my while. But it just was not cutting it either.

When the call for all family members to come home, I thought to myself, what could go wrong? Besides, it just might be the appropriate distraction from this impending meteorite blah-blah blah.

But even this is not cutting it.

Here's my entry,

To join this contest, check this out:
#whatwouldyoudo
Follow @dreemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37