"Watching my Life Like a Film"...philosophical/reflection poetry by mepatriot

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Watching my Life Like a Film

Is that really me, quietly at home, watching snow bury my place?
Am I the same guy who oft ran so fast that the wind would cool my face?
I found that mirror in which I'd reflected, wondering how I would look
When fully grown with wife, kids, house... and this is what it took
To know my life had strangely passed, and I'd never stopped to hear,
The wind in the trees, the hum of the breeze, a frolicking white-tailed deer.

Mistakes, I've made 'a plenty I know, and I've paid most grievously,
For placing things way down the road at far more value to me
Than those at close hand, who've shared my life and given joy so dear,
To roll back the film, and change the script, then others, plain & clear,
Would always be first in all my thoughts-- freed from my envy and greed,
Like the old man in that Dickens song, I'd learn to let God take the lead.

Two thirds now gone, and maybe more... who can say what to expect?
It's truly not quantity but quality we seek, I've heard and still do suspect,
But reaching my age it's time to consider, what elders of old have written
Of the speed of life and the pangs of old age, often while in grief smitten,
Those under 80 still can make change & clean up things that aren't pretty,
For God in His heaven says He'll forgive and is always promising pity.

Humans are feeble, no matter the age, with such a short-sighted view,
Of things 'round the corner (some even closer) and truths we already knew.

So let's join together and fall to our knees at this mystical time of year,
And ask for wisdom, forbearance and grace and the time to spread good cheer.

Help me remember, and I will help you, the things we're all called to do,
For all of God's children, deserve peace and love, and a soul that's clean and new.

(At Amity, 12/8/16)

Sort:  

somehow when i read this post i'm singing or should i say rapping inside, because because it rhymes. good post. i posted something about life to. i'll be great if you can stop by .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11