If I Could Only Give You One Tip on Steemit, Here's What It Would Be, You Won't Believe How Simple it is!

in #writing6 years ago

As a content marketer and social media consultant, I've gotten all kinds of approaches when interviewing with potential clients. But, by far the best question I was ever asked was this one.

If you could only share one thing with us about content marketing, what would it be?

I didn't hesitate, because this is something I've spent years doing, day in and day out and I'm going to share my tip, but first, let's talk about what we're doing here.

We are building the world's first all digital, online economy.

It's true. There are a few others trying it, but we've actually accomplished it. We're not self-contained, by any means, but we have all the ear marks of an economy. We engage in production, through content publishing and digital development on the blockchain, and we have a market, where goods and services are exchanged in a common currency. We've proven it can be done.

Our economy is more and more impacting the "real world" around us as well. It is only a matter of time until the first steemer is able to walk int a dealership and buy a brand new car, without exchanging his coins for fiat.

Since we are paving the way for others who will build on top of us, I'd like to suggest that it's important what kind of foundation we lay.

And that has a lot to do with the answer I gave to that client. It's at the heart of everything I do here, from sharing my fiction to starting dolphin school, it is the one passion that has driven me through every career I've ever followed,and that was a journey, believe me.

What we build here, may be accessed decades, or even centuries from now. So, what will it be? What is our legacy? Are we just here to pat ourselves on the back, and cheer on our favorite crypto coins, or can we get down to the real work of building our anarchic communities on steemit, finally? I'm hoping we're ready.

It's been over 18 months since the first payouts happened, and the system has been trucking along ever since.

It's pretty exciting to be a part of when you think of it, millions of dollars being generated by a company that you hold a stake in. How cool is that? Not only that, but your stake can be whatever you want it to be.

So, if you want it to grow, what's the most essential thing I think you should know?

When I was asked by the client to share the one thing I felt was most essential, I took a moment to frame my answer. I knew what I wanted to say, but I didn't want it to come out salesy. But, if you know me, you know I'm pretty up front. WYSIWYG

I guess I'd have to say, whether you decide to use me or not doesn't matter. My advice to you would be the same. Whatever you choose to do about your content marketing, I feel there's only one thing that really matters.

The CEO sat up straight as I was talking. He looked me in the eye. I had his full attention.

Whoever you hire, make sure your content always adds value, and doesn't just make more noise. There's enough noise in the digital universe. No matter what your brand is, no matter what your "corporate culture" is and how on point your messaging may be. At the end of the day, if you're not adding value for your customers, it's not a project I'd be proud to put my name on.

He was silent. My heart sunk. I just knew in that moment that I'd made a fatal miscalculation. I'd answered the question as honestly as I could, and it had cost me a lucrative contract.

He squinted at me, pursed his lips and blew out.

"Well shit," he said."If a guy's integrity is more important to him than my money, how can I not hire that guy?"

He not only hired my company, but doubled our contract. We worked for him two years, until I sold my part of the business. What I'd been afraid would scare him off had been exactly what he wanted to hear.

I think the same thing is true on steemit!

There are plenty of people on here who will tailor their message to persuade bigger payouts, and gain an audience with a group that will support their posts. But, I feel strongly that my work here represents me just as much as any other gig I've ever done and I don't sleep well if I'm not true to my conscience.

I'd be posting the same information, and stories, whether I got payouts or not. I'd leave steemit, before I'd become something I'm not just to make a buck.

And I think this is the most essential thing any steemer can do. Remain true to yourself and add value with every post. Sometimes that value is a cheap laugh from a quick meme, or a quote that hopefully encourages somebody. But, I want every single post I leave here to mean something to somebody, long after this profile is gone.

What about you? Share your driving principle in the comments!

Sort:  

I completely agree with you @markmorrisjr
Adding value is the only way to build a strong, long lasting audience / business.
Some can swoop in and make some quick bucks, but that’s not what it’s all about.
Giving back to others not only helps build your business, but it helps nurture your soul and let’s you know that you are doing something for the greater good, not just for selfish gain.
Appreciate the post. Thanks for the inspiration.

Yep,thanks for the supportive comment!

Thank you for writing this encouraging article. And yes, there is a lot of noise on Steemit but there is a lot to be savoured, too.

The challenge lies in discovering what has both value and integrity. Value may be relative but integrity is constant.

And it is inconvenient! It can't be put on or taken off like a hat. I suppose this is what makes it stand out. It leaves a trail.

Sometimes it is a false trail, a red herring - but when you find integrity, it's like finding another chapter of a treasure that takes a lifetime to collect.

I'm a plankton with no IT knowledge but I believe there are several of these chapters that are being created on and through Steemit.

What each of us chooses to do - that's an individual choice. All of us can write a chapter. I hope to create at least one, too.

Good for you! Write it well my friend!

Inspiring article Mark. Resteemed.

There's so much more than Steem to be gained when we remain true to ourselves and constantly strive to add value to all that we share here.

  • The quality of our connections.
  • The expansion of our innermost beliefs and feelings.
  • And for me as an artist, I've explored creative areas that I never would have thought to before. 🦋

Hey! thanks for the resteem, and yes, I completely agree. This is a great place for trying new things.

I really love this. Integrity of messaging is so important. If you can’t stand behind your work why would anyone else? I think as freelancers and contractors its even more important to be authentic and operate with this mindset. Great read and thanks for posting!

I had no doubt that if you read this, you would get it. I see you are being very true to who you are. My encouragement is this, as your soul ages and you change (you will, it's supposed to happen) don't lose integrity. It's okay, you can only be true to the you you are now.

Great story, and philosophy. And an excellent way to live your life. I'm with you, perhaps my writing is not as eloquent, but I hope it's adding value, even if that is a moment of thought provoking for the reader. Thanks for sharing :-)

I'm sure it is. Your screen name alone is a great bit of encouragement, If we'd put as much passion into creating good as we do into destroying each other, the world would be a different place. Thanks for reading!

Yes! Be a value adding human being in everything you do. When you walk into a room, make sure people are happy you are there - because you add, not drain the energy. Same goes for Steemit.

Right! Emotional vampires are the worst! Well said my friend!

Yes, this is most certainly true and what I live by in my content business as well. I think most clients do understand (they should or you should leave them behind). Issues arise when working on website content and someone wants to just stuff keywords.

Good story and great message. Thanks!

LOL. wow, yeah, keywords. But, here's the thing, you can stuff keywords and still provide value, I know, I do it all the time! But, it costs a bit more. LOL

I completely agree with you; as an artist, a writer, and a person. There's never been any other way to "be" for me, ever.

Yep, me neither. It was poured into me in my youth and I cannot shake it. I could make a lot more money if I did! LOL

I don’t know that I can state my own guiding principle better than you explained it here. I know I am committed to quality, but I’m not even sure yet what my brand of quality is, and I am using steemit as a way to finally work on my writing in a way that I’ve wanted to for years. So, along with what you’ve offered, I hope I can continue to improve my own writing, while developing my voice and genres. Thanks.

You'll know it when you find it. For now, ask quality questions, seek quality answers and share what you find! In that process, you'll grow and change and become, many times over! That's the fun of it!

Quality, like beauty, is in the eye of the beholder. I scan popular posts and see things that have no appeal to me at all and they have hundreds of dollars of votes. I continue to scan and find beautiful, touching or hilarious posts with no views and no upvotes which makes me sad. Who let all the sheeple in? There is so much quality content going unnoticed here it is tragic. But that is my viewpoint. Others obviously see it differently. I have been training under a master for a few days. Following instructions and doing well. But I am still barely noticeable in the din. Fortunately I'm here for pleasure and I will continue to read and interact because it pleases me to do so. When I post there will be one more piece of interesting or beautiful clutter. And I will be okay with that until I'm not.

Well we are all here for different reasons, and I understand the excitement about crypto, when I see some of the dolphinschool members in war torn African countries,finally having some economic hope. But, in general, I'm with you. To each his own.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23