Vocab-ability–11 (annu, enni = year) – A More Powerful Vocabulary (earn UpVotes with “Vocab Practice” exercise)

in #writing6 years ago
Each daily “Vocab-ability 1x1” post has 2 main features, as follows:  

One “Vocab-ability” entry

By spending 5 minutes reviewing today’s “Vocab-ability” entry (below), you can learn the vocab roots and many high-level English words.    

One “Vocab Practice” exercise (for UpVotes)

By spending another 10–15 minutes, you can practice using today’s words by composing your own sample sentences. Your practice efforts will be rewarded with UpVotes.   (See “Vocab Practice” rules and notes below)    Today’s “Vocab- ability” entry

With this ‘Mini-Guide,’ you can identify the components in the “Vocab-ability”  entry above.

(To facilitate your quick reference, the ‘Mini-Guide’ has been minimized. For the full "Guide to Entries," right-click here.

      Introduction – For "Intro to Vocab-ability," right-click here
      Guide – For full "Guide to Entries," right-click here
      Index– For "Index" to all Chapters and Sections, right-click here

Note re Copying each Entry

Each separate post in the “Vocab-ability”  series consists of one entry (one text-box). To use any of these “Vocab-ability”  entries for your personal study or in any classroom, you can download them by clicking and dragging the text-box that you want to use, and then print them out.  

Note re Free Use

Please feel free to download the above text-box, copy it, print it out, and distribute it for any and all educational purposes. If “Vocab-ability”  helps you or your students to increase your English vocabulary, it will have served its purpose.
(I hold the copyright to the original “Vocab-ability” guide, which was published in 2002. I hereby grant free use of all the material contained in this post and in all other “Vocab-ability” posts on Steemit).

Sort:  

MY VOCAB PRACTICE
1)Anniversary
We always celebrate our wedding anniversary with dinner in an expensive restaurant.
2)Annual
The annual snowfall for this region is 30 centimetres.
3)Biennial
Parsnips and carrots are biennial plants often grown as annuals.
4)Perennial
Lack of resources has been a perennial problem since the beginning.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE
1 Annual
The school trip has become an annual event.

2 Anniversary
We are celebrating our anniversary next week.

3 Biennial
The governor explained the biennial budget proposal.

4 Perennial
Flooding is a perennial problem for people living by the river.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE:

  1. Anniversary
    My parents went on holiday to Morocco to celebrate their 38th anniversary of marriage.

  2. Annual
    When I was at high school, I pretended to be sick and invented anything to skip the annual final exams.

  3. Biennial
    La Biennale di Venezia is one of the most charming and interesting biennial contemporary art exhibitions in the world and whoever has been there shall feel lucky.

  4. Perennial
    I heard of a vegetarian community called Hunza, from Himalaya region, that is the most longeve in the world, thanks to yogic breathing practice, 100% local diet, daily meditation, perennial nutritious local food and glacier water, that are some of the traits of an incredibly healthy lifestyle.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. The entire family, as well as a large number of friends came to their 50th anniversary party which was quite a to-do.
  2. Every year I plant annuals because although they do not survive the winter, their flowers are often prettier.
  3. The Paris FIAC is a very well known biennial contemporary art show.
  4. Perennials not only last from year to year, but they tend to become stronger and more beautiful over time.

Annual
The world became excited for the annual Olympics.

Anniversary
We celebrated our second year anniversary together as a married couple with a large box of pizza.

Biennial
I feel like my children only give me biennial visits when they left for college.

Perennial
We overvalue the perennial faith in paper currency.

I would like to say this is awesome, and I'm glad I followed you! I am teaching English and this helps me learn while I teach!

Please read Rules #5 and #6. Now, I found your entries, but if and when I get more entries, I'll want you to follow those rules to ensure that I find your Vocab Practice entry and to make it easy for me to check your Vocab Practice.

Yes, I remember you are a teacher. In fact, I compiled this Vocab-ability material when I was an ESL teacher in Japan.

It not only helped my advanced-level students greatly, it also taught ME much about English vocabulary. Even if I "knew" many of the words, I came to understand them better by compiling this info.

Glad it helps!

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. Anniversary
    The bank celebrates its hundredth anniversary in December.
  2. Annual
    The organization has a large annual budget.
  3. Biennial
    It may subsequently become a weak grower and a distinctly biennial cropper.
  4. Perennial
    I wonder at her perennial youthfulness.

Thanks for great post..i appreciate this writing..all the best..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84