“T” – Vocab-ability – A More Powerful Vocabulary (This post includes all entries beginning with the letter “T”)

in #writing6 years ago

This latest post comprises all the “T” entries of the Vocab-ability series. It includes many English words whose etymology can be traced to Greek and Latin roots.   

If you learn one root, you can learn, understand, and use each and every English word derived from that root. Vocab-ability is an easy-to-use resource guide to help you understand those roots.    

In total, this Vocab-ability post features 14 entries that begin with the letter “T."  

Free Use: 

Please feel free to download the following material, copy it, print it out, and distribute it for any and all educational purposes. If it helps you or your students increase your English vocabulary, it will have served its purpose. And I will know that my efforts have proven beneficial. (Please see my additional comments and notes below the entries.)    Vocab-ability–228 (tang, tact = touch)

Vocab-ability–229 (tech, tect = skill, artistry)

 Vocab-ability–230 (tele = distant, far)

 Vocab-ability–231 (tempor = time)

 Vocab-ability–232 (tain, ten = hold)

 Vocab-ability–233 (tend, ten = stretch, extend)

 Vocab-ability–234 (tenu = narrow, thin)

 Vocab-ability–235 (term, termin = end)

 Vocab-ability–236 (terr = land, earth)

 Vocab-ability–237 (test = witness)

 Vocab-ability–238 (theo = god)

 Vocab-ability–239 (therm = heat)

 Vocab-ability–240 (tort, tors = twist)

 Vocab-ability–241 (tract = pull, attract)

Note re Copyright / Free Use: 

I hold the copyright to the original Vocab-ability guide, which was published in 2002. I hereby grant free use to all the material contained in this post and all other Vocab-ability posts on Steemit.    

Note re Copying each Screenshot: 

Each separate entry (including those in this and other Vocab-ability posts) consists of one screenshot (since making screenshots was the only way I could properly format the individual entries for uploading to Steemit). To use these entries for your personal study or in any classroom, you can download any or all screenshots by clicking and dragging the screenshots that you want to use, and then print them out.   

Note re Passing on the Vocab-ability Links:  

Alternatively, you can simply pass on one or more of the following links to the Vocab-ability posts:

Vocab-ability – Introduction to Vocab-ability.

Vocab-ability – Guide to Entries.

Vocab-ability – All “A” Entries.

Vocab-ability – All “B” Entries.

Vocab-ability – All “C” Entries.

Vocab-ability – All “D” Entries.

Vocab-ability – All “E” Entries.

Vocab-ability – All “F” Entries.

Vocab-ability – All “G” Entries.

Vocab-ability – All “H” Entries.

Vocab-ability – The Single “I” Entry.

Vocab-ability – All “J” Entries.

Vocab-ability – All “L” Entries.

Vocab-ability – All “M” Entries.

Vocab-ability – All “N” Entries.

Vocab-ability – All “O” Entries.

Vocab-ability – All “P” Entries.

Vocab-ability – The Single “Q” Entry.

Vocab-ability – All “R” Entries.

Vocab-ability – All “S” Entries.

Sort:  

From one word nerd to another... THANKS for this post. I look forward to more of these. I was thinking of proposing to you that when they let us create communities and catagories etc... we should team up and do an Etymology catagory for words and phrases. I LOVE LOVE LOVE finding out where words come from. HUGS

Ya, that's a good idea. While the Steemit platform is very impressive as is, it might benefit from certain additional features, such as specific communities.

Then again, if we only add a tag such as "etymology" or "world of words", that would be a great way of banding together.

(Here's another Steemian who's making vocab posts. @ghasemkiani ... His are targeted towards Arabic speakers, but they can also help speakers of any language. And I noticed that his posts have only 4 tags, so we could invite him to add a 5th tag, if we decide to use a tag such as "etymology" to start a new community.)

Thanks for the input! And let's keep in touch.

I refer people to his posts also. I am just thrilled to see both of you here and both so consistent. There is huge need and you both are easy to digest in the world of crazy English.

Whatever you do - stay on steemit and work it in comments. Don't go to chats anywhere.

Maybe some kind of daily or weekly deep dive on one little aspect/theme/word and ask for people to interact or make their own posts. Then summarize, declare winners and do the nest week.

I feel like you could do a weekly international freewrite like @mariannewest. MANY people comment over there that they want to try her idea but are afraid of the English. If I see then, I refer them here.

Maybe they could write a short passage in their own language and then spend the week translating with help.

We need our steemit foreign language countries to write at least some posts on English.

If I have anymore ideas to give you more work, I will let you know!

When I start the daily posts of each separate Vocab-ab entry, I've been considering how I can get the learners to use the sample words in their comments – by having them do some sort of short writing exercise. And I might even reward / upvote the first 10 commenters. Or maybe even the first 20.

I don't want to make such exercises too difficult for them or too time consuming for me. But it could be an effective way of having them use the target vocab. And hopefully it will get many who leave trite comment to change, such that they no longer leave such trite comments, and start writing worthwhile comments.

I'll consider my plan over the next few months.
Thanks for your input.

I think so many people believe the cut and paste comment is acceptable. Some people upvote then and it's often hard to tell. Anything you can do would be awesome. We need our minnows!

Ya, those cut-n-paste comments get irritating after a while. As do the comments such as "You are the greatest and your posts are absolutely wonderful for my learning experience" ... or some such drivel. I now just ignore such comments, and only respond to those which are at least minimally engaging.

Unfortunately, I believe some of those writers of lousy comments use English as a second language, so they might not be capable of writing better posts. But it's not only their lack of style, many of the contents have no interesting or engaging content whatsoever.

..these idea might intensify the way we comment!
..nice one sir @majes.tytyty

extemporaneous, contention, tenuous are words that I can understand when I read it, but I would never use while writing or speaking. Too uncommon.
I am still crying after my language test and next Tuesday I will have a technical interview of 1 hour and 30 minutes that will focus on international law, strategic planning and behavior attitude in stressful situation.
I'm studying, I do what I can do.

You don't have to USE them all immediately. That's not the way one uses a language, be it a child or an adult. First, you hear / learn the word. Eventually, you come to understand the word. Later, you come to be able to use it.

It's a long process, but that's the natural language-acquisition process. Of course, you can give the process a boost thru intensive studying, but you cannot really subvert the process.

So, don't worry if you can't use them. If and when you read them, you'll know the definition, and if and when you need to use them, they might pop up in your mind, or you might use a thesaurus to recall them.

Good luck with your next test. Study plenty, be confident, and let your confidence shine through and carry you through.

Hi @majes.tytyty , @carine1988 ask me to inform you that her account was hacked today By @drydoc46 . Thank you.

That sucks. Was any major damage done. Was any Steem stolen? Can she still access her account, or did somebody hack it and change the password?

Give her my best wishes, and let's help her survive this.

..hi sir @majes.tytyty
...my account @carine1988 is now recovered,thanks to the help of kuya @marlon82 and @surpassinggoogle
..i ask kuya @marlon82 earlier to sent you a message because i know youve been supportive on my blog and i thanl you for that sir
..these platform is indeed full of good people,my password was changed thatd why i cannot access it earlier and my earned sbd was sent to other account good thing @surpassinggogle guided me on what to do,i happen to chatt with him via messenger earlier.
These me not be relivant for ypur post buti feeli owe you an explaination 😊

Good to know that your account is recovered. Thanks for informing me. Stay safe!!

She lost all, she always cry until now. She can no longer access her account. Even her steem was stolen. The password has been changed already.

A little sad that this is the last entry from this column. But, given how great your photos are, I'm sure you will not make us miss. Or will you start another educational section?

Немного грустно, что это последняя запись с этой рубрики. Но, учитывая какие великолепные у Вас фотографии, я уверен, что Вы не заставите нас скучать. Или Вы начнете еще какую-то образовательную рубрику?

I wrote "the latest,"not "the last." So, there are more coming. Actually, in this current series, there are only 2 more ... U and V.

But then ... I will do "PREFIXES," "SUFFIXES," and then "NUMBERS." After that, I will do each individual entry of the entire series in single posts. Daily!! That will be over 300, so that these Vocab-ability posts will continue coming for over one year. I hope you find them all.

Wow! You are awesome. I'm so glad to see these doing well and in steemiteducation. This is such valuable work.

Naw... I'm just me. But sometimes I produce work that is pretty good. Some people would even say "valuable." ☺

Thanks for the compliments. It's really appreciated, and with the recent upward fluctuations in the price of Steem, it all makes me feel quite happy in this new year.

Re the "fluctuations," my friend here recently told me a good joke.

My Wong moves from Beijing to New York. He takes some Yuan to the bank and exchanges it, and receives $100. The next week, he goes to the same bank, and exchanges the same amount of Yuan. The teller gives him only $95.

Mr Wong say, "Last week I get hundred dollar. Today, why you give only 95?"
Teller replies slowly, hoping that Mr Wong will understand, "Fluc--tu--ations."

Mr Wong shouts back, "Fluct--U--Americans!"

lol - Americans are responsible for everything! And by the time I get back here the fluctuation is not going the right way!

I am looking forward to see suffixes!!

Hurray, you see what brought my level English :)

Loading...

Wow what a brilliant post!! Thanks for sharing as it very important to see what are saying!!

there are a lot of thing which i didnot know and because of you now i know all of them!! Again thank you..@majes.tytyty

Carry on your activity focus on this platform.
Well done.....
Best of luck.....
Upvoted and resteemed

Vocab-ability – A More Powerful Vocabulary
yes i like this way and the truely define the whole thing

english is essential in every sector in our life.....
vocabulary is also important in english knowledge.......
thanks for sharing........

This writing content just awesome..
Thanks for sharing...Dear ..Best of luck...

You should study these posts and learn the ideas. You have great English and this post will help you do better if you study.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85