You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I edit my own work - Plus a story to read too - 3

in #writing7 years ago

Excellent post. Even though (or maybe because ...) the edited version is longer, it is much easier to read. It has a flow that is not always in the original.

When I clicked on your post, I actually expected to find some editing tips. But instead you gave this example of before and after, which is probably a better way of showing how to do more in-depth editing.

My editing strategy is probably similar to yours. I write something, then read it and make changes regarding phrasing or syntax or content. Then I might proofread it, which will lead me to make more major changes – just because something does not sound right or the text does not flow right.

Typically, I do that over and over again. For all intents and purposes, my writing style and editing strategy go hand in hand. One leads to the other which demands the other which then results in a need for the other.

Eventually, I reach a point where the writing is satisfactory, although maybe not perfect. Then I'll proofread one final time, so at least it "reads" perfect. Or at least I hope so.

Keep writing, and keep editing, keep creating content here on Steemit, and keep giving whatever advice you can to anyone on Steemit who may benefit from it.

Cheers!

Sort:  

Hey @majes.tytyty thanks for stopping by. I've never been good at explaining how I do things, I can just do them (if that makes sense). It wasn't until I kept getting requests for help on steemit.chat that I finally decided to sit down and dissect what I do.

I'm still not sure I'm teaching properly, but if someone gets some value from my posts, I'm good with that.

:)

From the perspective of this "student," you're teaching properly and effectively. I'm sure others would agree.

Thank you! That's all I need to hear - that someone finds my rambling useful ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65364.69
ETH 2650.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86