You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Just Sent 50 E-Mails To Steemit Technical Support

in #writing7 years ago

Might have to wait awhile for official tech support. Steemit chat is the go-to if you want help with something like this.

I've just answered the question you asked in a comment on one of my old posts about how to do what you want to do.

If you are just copy/pasting from a word document, you will run into more issues than simple post length limits. I recommend pasting the document into a standard text editor (I use Notepad++ on a Windows machine), cleaning up the resulting text, formatting the document to conform to Steemit's standards, dividing the thing into several sections, posting these, then posting a table of contents introducing your article and linking to its sections.

This is what worked for me. I would be happy to walk you through the process.

Sort:  

Thank you, mada. I'll keep that invitation in mind. However, I just came across an article here on Steemit that suggested that I cleared my cached files from my browser. I went ahead and did that. Now I'm going to try to post my article again. If I have no success at it, you'll definitely be hearing back from me for guidance on the procedures that you described in your replay. I actually went into the Steemit chatroom last night and the people there were just as bewildered as I was about this problem. I actually have a saved file of my article in HTML format on Notepad. When I block and copy it to the screen for the body of my text for the article, everything is exactly the way I want it to be. The tall wall I have to figure out how to climb over is the blue "Post" button icon. It doesn't want to do anything. Perhaps this time I will get lucky now that I've cleared out the cached files and images from my Google Chrome browser.

Mada? I tried to post it again last night, but I had no luck. One other Steemit member has also suggested that a 74-page article in one post may be too long. I've looked over your work closely, and I have some idea of what I need to do in order to post the article in segments and then create a table of contents. I will likely post it in segments of 25 pages or less inasmuch as I noticed that the segments of your novel are no more than 26 pages each. You mentioned in your reply to me about "cleaning up the resulting text." I'm a little vague on what you mean by that. In any event, I have everything saved in Notepad in HTML format. Therefore, it's just a matter of breaking it up into segments. If I have any difficulties, I will let you know and consult with you on the matter. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97