Day 953 (Daily Post)

in #writing5 years ago

Day 953. I woke up before the sun today on what has turned out to be this rather foggy morning here at the ass end of summer and although I am rather sore after all of yesterday's activities I am also feeling rather invigorated about the entire prospect of moving my little homestead to the new location.

Getting to just spend some time at the new place yesterday with some of the folks that live there really did a lot to sooth my overly stressed mind and left me feeling rather confident that this move is going to be extremely good for me and that I will be quite comfortable in my new surroundings especially once I get things setup there.

As much as I am not really looking forward to the actual 'setup process' (because I have basically been doing that where I currently am for the last nine hundred odd days) there is definitely some benefits to once again starting from scratch now that I have attained/cultivated my sense of well-being and overall peace of mind because I can focus on a setup that is not only functional but mayhaps even beautiful which would be very nice indeed.

In the beginning I will assuredly just 'make do' scrapping together a setup that simply provides functionality but given the resources available at the new place making something beautiful won't be difficult at all and will further enhance the 'theme' and 'motif' of my friends' little homestead.

As a caretaker and land steward I am always influenced by the dreams/desires/visions of the actual landowners and those things heavily influence not so much what I am capable of doing but what I am willing to do. If there is one thing that I have learned over the years with the whole caretaking thing it is that the clearer the landowner's vision for their place is (along with their ability to clearly communicate that vision) and the more similar our ethos is the easier it is to communicate about what needs to be done that will best serve not only our own goals/needs but those of the land itself and in the process of doing that maintain an open dialogue about what it will take to accomplish the things that will undoubtedly unfold through our combined efforts as we embrace our individual roles in a way that is balanced with love, gratitude, care, integrity, patience and understanding so that the 'work' that is done (and in turn the land itself) reflects those qualities.

My big takeaway from the scenario I am currently in is that 'doing things the hard way and working with junk' is nowhere near as fulfilling nor productive as 'working with ease and focusing on quality' because as much as 'making do and improvising' gets the job done the results always have a bit of a sour flavor to them and although personally I kind of like sour flavors...I also like them to be balanced with a good bit of sweetness as well.

Anyway things are winding down rapidly here and I will soon switch from counting down the days to counting down the hours until me and my canine companions are moved to our new home and the next chapter of our lives will begin to unfold with all the majestic colorfulness of a peacock spreading it's plumage in full sun like some psychedelic explosion in an otherwise bland landscape of greens and browns.

All that stuff aside a dear friend of mine has recently encouraged me several times to just take one day (during all this packing down process) to just enjoy my surroundings and spend a bunch of quality time just chilling with the dogs in the space here that I have worked so long and hard to create. So after much consideration (and many days/weeks/months of packing down, working out logistics and being entirely too stressed) I think that I am not only going to take that advice but act on it today. Just so that I am mildly productive I am also going to gather a bunch of black cherries, milk thistle flowers, apples, pears and perhaps a few plants that I have had my eyes on of late and thought how nice it would be if they grew at the new place. So basically I am going to take a 'nature day' do some hiking and foraging and give myself a small reprieve before getting into the whirlwind grind of my last few days here which ultimately will do my mind, heart and spirit a lot of good and help assure that I enter into my next scenario with the sort of mindset that will undoubtedly benefit all involved parties.

I hope that everyone is doing well and has a nice day/night and you better fucking believe it that I am going to do the same as I turn sunlight into music and enjoy having a bit of a spring in my step as I move forward towards my next adventure.

This is my fundraiser to help me with moving expenses.

https://www.gofundme.com/jacob-is-moving-again

Please consider becoming a patron on my Patreon page!!!
https://www.patreon.com/jacobpeacock

You can also contribute via PayPal: https://www.paypal.me/jacobpeacock

Or via Venmo: https://venmo.com/Jacob-Peacock-8

ripe-wild-cherries-sm.png

Today's Obligatory Picture: The Wild Cherries Are Getting So Ripe!

Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88