Freewrite #2

in #writing6 years ago

I left work sweaty and grimy, my shirt off before my ass hit the car seat. I lit up a cigarette and cranked the radio after the engine roared to life. I blew out the smoke and sighed, then drew hard and deep off the filter, filling my lungs. The next exhale filled the car, and I stepped on the break. I dropped it into reverse and plucked the cigarette from my lips, checked my blind spots, and zipped out of the parking spot. I hit drive and took off, slowing just in time to stop at the parking lot entrance. Both sides were clear for a ways, so I floored it and zoomed toward the bar.

I passed a gas station and the fleeting thought of pizza pecked at the edges of my mind, but the limits of my wallet squashed the probing idea. A few minutes later I parked in the gravel lot of the bar. I grabbed my keys, lighter and smokes and rose from the car, locked the doors and slammed the driver door. There was a fight in progress in the nearby grass, but I ignored it. I was here to drink.

And drink I did. I stepped into the loud, hazy room as the jukebox played "Bad Reputation" by Joan Jett. One of the subwoofers had blown, but the sound was still better than a car stereo could pull off, so I relished in it as I approached the bar. It was Tuesday, so the bar was not particularly full. I received my order, which was a shot of Captain Morgan and a pitcher of cheap beer, and went off to one of the corner booths to drink in relative peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15