Dungeon and Steem – The Quest for the Best Plan (Community Help Needed!)

in #writing6 years ago

Who should win the 20 SBD?



Source

The “main event” has ended, and it’s about time to choose the winner of the bonus 20 SBD prize. There has been quite some epic plan submissions. For that I want to give thanks to all the players that have been trying to increase the “story telling” level of this whole endeavour. The choice will be a tough one, therefore I want to ask the community for help. You now have a chance to stress your opinions. The final choice will be done by me anyway, but I am totally open to your ideas and opinions, which could lead to me deciding differently than I would if it was only up to me. I’ll share my opinion about every single move (flavoured with the overall experience with the player) and I’ll be awaiting your answers. Let’s get to it.

What was a plan in the DnS contest?



Source

Plan was a player’s input every single round. The plan was either a set of all the actions the player wants to do during one game day (action plan), or a detailed battle plan, when the player was confronted by an opposition (engagement plan). The structure of the plan was completely up to the player.


@marekdavid

I scan the bushes for a nearby elf. If I find trace their scents and find one close enough I go to him/her and quickly inform him/her "bloodied up orc spotted, off to gather more info". In the absence of any nearby orc. I take one arrow from my quiver and leave a bare but comprehensible message on a visible tree bark with words like "bloodied orc spotted, I'm off", shouldn't take too much out of my time. I then pursue, I keep a reasonable distance out of the range of the orcs' nose. I quietly glide through the high three line always keeping the orc in my sight. Another reason for me pursuing from a distance is to make sure he is not being pursued by other belligerent forces. I plan to pursue him for 4 hours, or when he gets tired out, whichever comes first. If after 4 hours he is still running and I have still not picked up the scent or seen any creature in pursuit. I try to catch up and attempt to kill him with my bow and arrow. If he stops and waits without me picking up a trace that he is being followed by someone other than me I go nearer and attempt kill him from a distance with my bow and arrow. Otherwise if he is being followed, I go back for reinforcements.

@marekdavid was by far the best elvish player. He has always made the most out of every single day. In addition to that, he was frequently coming up with crafty ways how to improve his abilities or how to improve his chances of success. His demise came quite early due to unfortunate dice rolls, but his plans were the spotlight of elvish race until then.


@Xxsenpaixsamaxx

I spot the orc and decide to pursue him, I quickly catch up to him and stay on my guard about 5 meters from him. he starts to slow, I am too becoming more tired, I then take this as my opportunity to draw my bow and load an arrow from my quiver, which is attached to my right leg, after expending 1 arrow of my 20 using my high luck advantage and master archer skill I take aim hoping not to miss also taking in the distance between me and the orc and drop rate of the arrow from the 3rd level of the forest, I cast a spell that uses the existing roots and bushes to entangle his legs to keep him rooted steadily. I position myself and draw my old rusty sword. outcome: unpredictable. After this I retire to a tree to rest and drink water, I then go scavenging around the woods looking for edible plants or wild game as a source of sustenance. I use my perfect orientation of the woods to mark places I find that contain water and edible plants, this also prevents me from getting lost.

The early plan attempts of @Xxsenpaixsamaxx were awesome. In fact this was his very first plan, which kept me speechless for some time. Unfortunately with every single turn he committed less and less time into the creation of the plan and it was quite obvious. Nevertheless his very first plan was in my eyes one of the best in the whole game.


@sircork

I ignore the light. Too inviting, too easy. Nope, nope, nope.

@sircork was by far the most skilled DnD player joining my contest. He has continuously been showing it in his plans too. His inventory before the departure to the forest was exemplary and so were his strategic decisions, unfortunately though his magical incompetence has caused him to die just few points from the victory. We both agreed that this easy looking plan was his best one. Not only he proved that he is no casual RPG player that simply has to check everything out, thus avoiding death that awaited half of the human players at that single event, but he dodged it with FUCKING STYLE!


@gregory-f

When I regain consciousness, I finish off the scout Makhel is holding down. Then Makhel and I will quickly search the two bodies for any food and water. If they have no food, I'll hack off a tasty looking limb with my axe. If an alarm has been raised, we will quickly retreat, trying to keep low and out of sight. If we see and hear no one coming, we will hide the bodies as best we can, then withdraw keeping low and quiet. We will retreat a safe distance from the battle then conceal ourselves.
While we rest and refresh ourselves with the food and water we took from the dead, I say to Makhel, "The God has again sent me a message. I do not understand how or why, but I am to meet a human about a days journey from here. I feel there is some urgency to us arriving at the designated place and we must abandon our attempt to contact my friend for now. Xnurlos do not idly speak to mortals and the timing of the vision tells me there is a need for us to be there at the appointed time".
I clean my weapons as best I can with some handfuls of grass. Then we set out to the place I saw in the vision. We will stay low and quiet and avoid any roads or trails. We will avoid all contact with others if at all possible.
"Makhel", I call out, my eyes never moving from the rock wall, "Xnurlos has given me this task to wait for the Human, now I have a task for you, scout the area, you should find a stream not too far to the west. Fill our water pouches and then see what meat you can find us. I know not what lies ahead of this path we are on but we must be strong and that means meat! Rats, rabbits, deer, whatever you can kill, bring to me. Now go." As Makhel moves off I place all my weapons on the ground and begin sharpening them with a stone. This slow practiced ritual of a warrior is restful and relaxing and I take my time. Caressing each weapon with the stone in their turn. When I have finished, I place all weapons away so that none will mistake my intentions as hostile. And I wait.

@gregory-f has been one of my favourite orcs in the contest. At first he seemed like he’s not really investing too much
time into the plans, but over time I realized that he just had his style. He always kept it simple and condensed as much information as he could into just few sentences. That time though he let his orcish emotions go all out, picturing a confused but strong-willed warrior, due to presumably religious visions.


@thatsweeneyguy

When I hear the noise from inside, I stop dead in my tracks. Raising my right arm up with a closed fist, I signal for Makhel to do the same.
Unclasping my axe and holding it firm in both hands, I sniff the air, looking for telling scents. "You, back. Distract. Me, front. Kill." I grunt to Makhel.
Approaching the building slowly, I carefully look into any windows, preparing myself. When I hear Makhel's roar, I kick in the front door, ready for anything
If I see an ally I'll put my axe back in its place. They're obviously scared, but being battle hardened, I don't have much sympathy for them. War has always destroyed, and I've grown somewhat used to it. I ask him/them if they have supplies to travel, and tell him/them my plans to head to the next camp over. As it's not incredibly far, I decide I and Makhel will lead him/them there. "Stay quiet. Keep up." I grunt to.
After said encounter, I will use the remainder of the day to eat, drink, rest, collect meat from whatever is inside (if possible), and speak with Makhel. Does he remember any part of the battle? Who invaded? We will take turns sleeping and watching camp, leaving at the first light of morning.

@thatsweeneyguy was my other favourite orc. He depicted a battle-hardened orc that doesn’t really care about much but his best friend Makhel and killing of all the rotted orcs. His plans later in the game were really straight forward and at the end he died for his excessive ballsiness. At the beginning though his plans also had quite an strategical aspect in them.


This bonus battle plan was too good not to be shared with you :D

Source


Sort:  

I am torn between the cunning of @sircork's plan and the detail of @Xxsenpaixsamaxx's plan. Ultimately I think I choose the simple genius of @sircork.

thanks for your opinion:)

Hehe, thanks, it was early in the game, but I just knew taking that well lit tunnel branch was a bad idea when my choice was a totally dark passage with no visible end. Don't go into the light, Carol Anne!

LOL, it WAS my best plan, but seriously, I spent 16 weeks writing a book and this is the one the world will see? hahahahahahahah awesome. :D

if you want to change the plan choose one of your own :P

Nah, I am good with this one, just love you chose a one liner when some were longer than any of these :D I think this win may need to go to someone else :D

this may attract sarcastic dudes out there:P

I surely don't know anyone like that!

for fucks sake man choose your own plan!:D

Ok, I vote for me. :D But I'm not going back to steemit.chat to look up my old plans now that the game is over, because I absolutely hate that rocketchat app. :)

Hey did you ever figure out or did I ever tell you what my metal tubes were for in my inventory?

no you didnt and of course i thought about that! breathing under water or ground was my guess:P

Love your work!

First of all thanks! Secondly though you didnt help me much lol:D

@fingersik Bringing dungeon crawling to Steemit through play-by-post and comment gaming is a wonderful idea! Execution is everything! I look forward to watching how you solve this hurdle for the Steemit Community

Realms of Adventures was a play-by-blog post comment (and later play-by-form entry) roleplaying game I developed for myself and a few friends. I am currently posting the results of several months gaming sessions as fiction on Steemit - You can check out @aejackson feed to see the posts

My mind continues to work through how Steemit engagement methods - Upvotes, Reply, Resteems, would work together to aid a Game Master in running a Round. If I think of anything... now I know your project is the one working on a solution!

Best of luck!

again thanks...but you didnt help me at all:D

Ha ha - I understand I wasn't a big help to you determining who would win (be selected)
But I was at a disadvantage - I did not see the original posts to which the Battle Plans were responding ... How did you prompt these players to send you a Battle Plan? What is the backstory here?

it was a 16-week-long campaign...the backstory is huge:D you can check something out at my blog, but its more than enough to work with jsut what i provided in this article:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30