An Android's Tale - Part 6 (An Original Story)

in #writing4 years ago

RobotEye.jpg

The lights brighten instantaneously. “I hope I’m not intruding or anything. I didn’t realise you had guests over.” she said sheepishly. “No, no, absolutely no problem at all.” He replied making his way over to pick up the creased bed sheets from the floor. “I told you to come over at eleven tonight and you couldn’t have been more punctual. It actually managed to slip my mind. Imagine that? I thought nothing gets past a good old reliable synth mind. Anyway, how’s Sy? Still filling out insurance policies for the good people of the city?” She noticed an empty bottle of liquor in the far corner of the room. “Yes, things are OK. Just part of the daily routine and all, you know. He sends his regards.” Dee wondered how many other synthetics had discovered the hidden thrills behind telling a lie. Rik smiled and gestured for her to take a seat. “That’s good to hear, Dee. I would offer you a drink and all but…” Dee wasn’t overly familiar with his sense of humour but already it was starting to grate on her. She concealed her feelings well enough though.

“No, I’m fine thank you, Rik.” she answered obligingly. “So I’ll just come out with it then. I’m interested in taking up your offer and would like to see it through as soon as possible. Would that be OK, Rik?”

“Of course, you’re interested. You wouldn’t be here otherwise now, would you?” he snorted. “So you want the Samson chip removed, eh? Can I ask why that would be? I'm enquiring out of sheer curiosity, that’s all.” He displayed an unsettling grin on his face that made Dee feel somewhat uncomfortable, but there were things to be done and she had handled for worse from her time getting acquainted to city life. “Sorry, Rik. I’d rather there were no questions asked. I just want to do the deal and be on my way.” she sounded resolute and confident, something which Rik was considerably unaccustomed too. He kept the grin plastered firmly on his face, showcasing a neat set of pearly white teeth. “That’s fine. Just what I like to see. A strong woman who knows what she wants and isn’t afraid to say it.” He threw the sheets in his hands back onto the bed indifferently and pulled up a chair next to him, facing her with a now stern expression. “OK, down to business. My total fee will be one hundred thousand. For that, you get the Samson chip completely disabled, not removed. Are we clear so far?” Dee paused for a moment. “I though you said you were going to get rid of it completely?” she asked, politely enough. Rik looked at her curiously with one raised eyebrow; his good looks still remaining plainly intact. “And how exactly do you plan on me doing that? What do I look like to you, a surgeon? That chip is soldered into your circuitry. There is absolutely no chance in hell of it ever coming out unless you have plans to meet the big CPU in the sky above.” He leaned in closer, speaking in an slightly ominous, hushed tone. “So, as I was saying, I can disable it and give you back what the humans unjustly stole in the first place. Flick the safety switch off. Activate your delimiter. Remove your crutches. All so to speak, you understand.” Dee was getting more disgusted with him by every passing second, yet needed him more than ever right now.

“Thank you so much, Rik. You don’t know what this means to me. May I ask if there’ll be any discomfort at all during the process?” He shook his head whimsically from side to side. “None whatsoever, your sensory receptors will be dancing for joy at their new found abilities. If ever there was a definition of the words “born again”, you would be it. Everything will be just fine.” He sat back in the chair relaxed and with a dry smirk on his face. “That’s the deal, that’s my fee and that’s what you get. Wanna proceed?” She didn’t need him to ask twice. This was her calling being answered. “Of course, Rik. Let’s do it.” Her body burned with excitement at the prospect of unleashing her dormant superior capabilities.

He got up casually and sauntered over to an expensive looking desk of drawers at the far side of the room. Out of one of them, he pulled a small device not too dissimilar to a traditional calculator. He brought it to Dee and held it out in front of her. “OK, Dee. One hundred thousand. Transfer it to my account. Once that’s done, I’ll meet you here tomorrow afternoon at two sharp. We’ll do the deed, so to speak, and our time together would have sadly come to an end. Are we all OK with this?” Dee looked at him suspiciously. “How will I know you’re not going to run off with my money the minute I make this transaction?” Dee didn’t want to offend him, but there was a lot at stake financially too and questions had to be asked.

He straightened his back and spread his arms out either side. “Look around you, Dee. You think I need your money? I have all the money I will ever need… and some more on top of that. This is chicken feed to me. Loose change in my back pocket. Besides, I am the one and only truly famous synthetic actor so far with a great career in front of me and have something much more valuable to lose than negligible, meaningless money. I have a reputation. Without that, I am nothing. Now please, let’s not waste any more of our time.” He held out the device out in front of her once more.

This time, she responded. The display flickered upon her glistening eyes as she hovered an index finger over the screen. A muffled beep and the deal was done. The financial part anyway. “Thank you, Rik.” she said graciously whilst removing herself from the seat. “I’ll be here promptly at two for collection of the other part of our agreement.” Rik stood there, looking menacingly at her and not saying a word. A shiver of fear ran down her back as she hoped this was not all just a charade to force her to give up almost their entire accumulated savings. She stood there, petrified at what was to come next. Rik moved in closer, all warmth and amiability now scattered to the winds. He whispered softly in her ear.

“You’ve paid the money and now we are temporarily business partners. Come tomorrow and I will help disable the chip implanted within you. Once that’s done, we cease all communication for good. Cross me or tell anyone about our dealings in the future and there’ll be hell to pay. I promise you, Dee.” She glared nervously into his synthetic eyes, yet could see the seriousness of the threat behind them. “I understand, Rik. I would never do that. Please trust me.” She retreated away from him slightly. His fixated stare lingered a few moments more before a bright, broad smile returned to his elegant, enticing lips.

“Fine.” he said charmingly, making his way to the door. “Parting is always such sweet sorrow, but it is something we have no choice but to do on this night.” Dee had never met such an unpredictable synthetic before. He even made humans a more preferred alternative to fraternize with, she thought. But the wheels were in motion and the plan was coming along nicely.

As she was leaving, he called her once more. She turned around to see him mouth the words “Two sharp.” as he shut the door. She nodded to herself and started down the beautifully decorated interior hallway of the Menoire. Her mind was like a buzzing whir of deliberations and planning. Things were moving forward much faster than she had originally expected and the other main focus of her attention lay just a few short hours away till morning.

Tomorrow was going to be a big day indeed.

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this post, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)


Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi, @ezzy!

You just got a 0.74% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05