Flowers, Bees and Associations

in #writing5 years ago

bee1.jpg

In the English language you have a saying birds and bees, we have almost the same saying in Finland, but it's flowers and bees (kukkia ja mehiläisiä), which in my opinion makes a lot more sense. Both refer to talking about sex, usually to kids that are too young to be told about the technical details of reproduction of humans. The Finnish version of the saying comes from bees being needed to pollinate the flowers, but where does the birds and bees one come in the English language? Birds and bees don't have sexual relations do they now?


The butterfly effect. You know the saying right, butterfly flap flap one part of the world, turns into a hurricane half across the world months after, chaos theory, all that. I think it would make a lot more sense if it was about bees, because apparently we have a bee crisis in the world, and that if something can be super harmful for everyone in the end. Or at least that is what I heard. I'm not some environmentalist or a nice person by any regard, but I try to be nice to bees. Especially to bumblebees because they are so cute and fluffy!


This picture looks weird, it looks like it's overly processed on Photoshop, but it isn't. I only enhanced the bee a little bit to make it pop more, it is out of focus mostly anyways. It was a really windy day and I was using a 100mm lens at a very shallow depth, trying to follow a bee flying from apple blossom to apple blossom. I didn't manage to catch it in focus at all, but I though this picture came out kinda cool because only some of it is in focus and you can see the bees wings flapping. The flowers and the bee, even though not close, are almost at the same distance from the camera, so they are somewhat similar in focus, it made a fun look to the image.


Are you confused about the three chapters above? Don't be, it's just a representation of how my mind works when I look at pictures. I draw inspiration really often from some associations and what comes to mind first when I glance at a photo. I think 90 percent of the time, a title I use for my self-portrait images comes from an association, and it might or might not make sense to you, because we don't have the same mind. That one word or sentence I get from the first images I take and look at, might set the tone for the rest of the shoot and for the final post with a whole lot of images.

If you were to look how my photographs are named, they are almost always a short version of the word that first comes to mind about the set of images. It's kinda fun but it's sometimes very difficult to find said images later on because the association might not be the same initial one after months or years. I usually use only three letters, and then numbers when I make a set of images. The image in this post is quite unsurprisingly bee1.jpeg, if I had more pictures for the set, they would be bee2.jpeg etc, it's a lot more complicated for self portraits, I can't just name then all me.jpeg.

I would be interested to know what kind of things you start to think about when you look at the image in this post.

It would be even more interesting if I didn't already inflict more ideas to your head by writing out some of my own.

Sort:  

This is пиздец

Translator tells me the word means editing. Does it? What do you mean by it? Why that word?

I stuck it into Google translate: Russian to English and got this...

Screen Shot 2019-06-12 at 9.06.27 pm.png

I think it's quite amusing, because it's as you say, we have our own inside jokes, references we ourselves may only understand, but the allure of writing, creative nonfiction as it were, allows us to communicate the complexities we have in our thought. This also helped me feel validated that I should step out with my camera more, even if not for the purpose of portraiture. Thanks, Eve.

The overly processed by photoshop part made me remember how some people assume bokeh is made by photo editing.

People are so awesome.

Those are probably people who have phones with double cameras so they can artificially make images look like they have bokeh. I had that kind of phone and I never used that tool because it was shit.

Well it's even worse than that, as I remember hearing that even before these double cameras.

This is mostly because you can blur images in photoshop, and they're assuming the background is just blurred in photoshop. I remember how I had read some photography articles online recommending simple tricks like "Take the photo a bit lower" and "Use aperture which produces the desired bokeh".

Comments were on level of "Haha so just kneel down and blur the background in photoshop? terrible tips!"

Also, the double camera bokeh is no good. I hope nobody spent too much time of their life when engineering this "feature".

I see the blossom and think of blue-sky days in the small town I was raised in...Of our fruit tree grove in a riot of colour and blossom, the smell of cut grass, burn-pile smoke, longer days, caterpillars and laying in the pine needles reading books by the filtered sun light...

Posted using Partiko Android

The Bee that travels between focused and unfocused areas because of its nature.

FBBD9F9C-85EA-4767-9A21-477C4E977574.jpeg

Being completely honest the first thing that popped into my mind was the gold bee pendant. Probably no surprise !

Hahahah no surprise at all!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04