My Grandmother Wanted a Grandson

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

gmamaggie.png

Before I begin, I know my grandmother loved me in her own way. She would pick me up for visits when my father could not bother to be around. She brought us food more than once to help because my dad never paid his child support. And she bought me cloths when her budget would allow, for that same reason. If that did not clarify it, I am talking about my father’s mom.

However, I can not count the times she told me that she wished I was a boy because “that thing between my legs would get me into trouble someday”. And that is exactly how she put it to me, even when I was five years old.

Grandma also, without my moms permission, had my long hair cut short so I would look more like a boy. I was about six when this occurred and it did not stop there. It was summer and she insisted that I go shopping with her without wearing a shirt.

I was devastated but she told me not to worry because everyone would just think that I was a boy. I, of course, knew I was a girl and I knew I was supposed to wear a shirt. I walked around with my arms crossed to cover my chest and my face red from tears the entire trip.

One good thing did come from it; she never tried either of those things again. My mom was infuriated about both events and threatened to not let her have me again.

The damage was already done though; I will never forget just how badly she wanted me to be a boy. Nor how far she went to get others to think she had a grandson.

On top of her wanting me to be a boy, my grandmother was very stern. You did what she wanted you to do or you got a bloody mouth. I was taught, pretty young, not to test her on that.

That said; I know my grandmother grew up in another time, where children were to be seen but not heard. Her father ran off with another woman, leaving my great grandmother to raise the remainder of their eight children on her own.

My Grandmother was only fifteen when my Grandfather, who was in his thirties, offered to marry her. It is my understanding; my grandma did not know my grandfather. It was more like a business arrangement because he needed a wife and my great grandmother would have one less mouth to feed. That could not have been pleasant for a fifteen year old to endure and I can only imagine the scars it left on her mentally.

People did not talk openly about things at that time. I can remember my grandmother telling me that she did not know what was going to happen on her wedding night between her and my grandfather. No one, even he, bothered to explain it to her. It was just something that happened to her and continued to happen to her while she remained married to him. I can remember her saying that it was unpleasant and that she did not enjoy the experiences.

Grandma did not even understand why her belly swelled when she fell pregnant with my father. No one told her she was carrying a baby or what was to come. She was one of the younger of her siblings so she did not remember her mother being pregnant.

It has always been hard for me to me to wrap my own mind around the fact that she literally had no clue what these things were or even why they were happening to her. I am sometimes glad that I do not know more because these things alone bring me some understanding of why she wanted me to be a boy.

Honestly, I think she thought life was better for men and in the time she grew up in, I am sure it was. Grandma had four sons and I believe she was happy because she thought they would have a better life than she had.

While I am not saying it justifies her behavior towards me, it does give me an understanding of what her thought process may have been and why.

That said, I never let her keep my children alone, for any reason, ever. I lived away but I would take them to see her, a couple of times a year. I kept the visits short and simple so they would never have to endure what I did.

I admit how she treated me does make me sad but I do not harbor any anger towards my grandmother. There was a time that I was angry but once I became older and fully process it, I realized it is what it is. Without those experiences I may not be who I am today.

I am not perfect by any stretch of the word but I do try to be a better person and learn from my own mistakes and the things that have happened to me.

Who am I to say my grandmother was not doing the same. I would like to believe that she strived to be better than the things that happened to her as well.

I own all of the photographs used.

My other social media's:
You Tube
Twitter
Instagram
Clickasnap
debralee_blue.png

Sort:  

@debralee, My heart goes out to you in regards to the unpleasant and hurtful things you experienced as a child. However, it seems as though you have done the best a person can do with those things...learn from the mistakes of others, strive to see them compassionately taking into account the pain they themselves may have been in, & then making wiser decisions with your own children. All the best

Thank you @denisechips I debated for awhile rather to post it or not. I ultimately decided that it may help others.

Yes, that's understandable. I hope you are right and it does help others. That's the best thing we can do with our pain & the wisdom that comes from it.

I have always respected how you were able to share negative experiences yet show how you grew in spite of them. This was hard, raw and great.

Thank you Paul.

This was very heartfelt and emotional to read, but so nice you put it out. I'm sure it was a bit hard to write, but very cathartic on some plane.

Amazing how you have developed a great attitude to help you realize all the true meanings and nature of your history with your grandmother. As you say, it is never simple and easy to figure out why people are who they are. There is so often a true reason why, even if we do not really want to hear, or understand it. People are who they are. Often for a good reason.

So glad you could rise above the 'fray' of it all, and develop a great life and attitude for that life and move on, yet keep her within your life as much as possible. Very amazing to be able to do that, indeed.
Thanks for having the courage to share a bit of your life history. I think we all can learn from it. Have a good night.

Than you so much @ddschteinn for your thoughtful comment. I hope you have a great weekend.

It is a good thing you kind of forgave her. What a poor woman, she most have had such a burdon to carry, no one becomes what they are with out help from others... What pleasures will she have known? my heart goes out to you Deb, no one should have to go through that. I hope you also found out that thing between your legs can cause a great deal of pleasure ;-) Being able as a woman to carry new life ! makes us very special, we are nothing without a man, truth but to be able to take care of life inside of you, is something i am very proud on.

I did forgive her but I'm sure I will never forget it. I know her early life must have been hell. She was able to break away from that and learned how to take care of herself in the process.

Yes, I did find that to be true. lol I absolutely loved being able to create a life within me. I really enjoyed being pregnant both times.

Sad story. I don't understand.
Good thing you already surpassed it.

I wanted a boy, but my first child was a girl.
I wasn't angry or disappointed.
But for some reason my baby had passed six months with almost any hair...
Almost everyone referred to her as a boy...
The thing bothered me in such a way that
I make her have some earrings...
Not a boy! It's a girl... My girl!

Thank you for sharing that. I'm glad you love your daughter. :)

Just like you said @debralee...it is what it is! Sometimes our past makes us stronger even though at the time it is hard and we may not realize it till many many years down the road! I'm glad you posted and shared your story! xoxo

Thank you @deerjay ((hugs))

You're very welcome!! xoxo

Powerful... this helped me understand a few things as well. Things unspoken, yet they wanted us to know and seemed we should already know, but had no experience or place to start to understand. No jumping off point in knowledge base. This was helpful and yet tragically scary at the same time. The White Knight in me wants to ride to the rescue, the old sage wiseman in me knows that would be a mistake because you are an amazing person and through our tragedies in life we become more than what we began as. Life is a bittersweet pill to swallow. Tragedies made me want to be a better person, to show love in all the right places where it wasn't shown to me. This was a real life story and it moved me deeply on a primal level. I gained understanding through your misfortune, but only through communication of it can we help lift others to a better place. My original reply would have been the one word because it impacted me so deeply, powerful. Yet, I try to puzzle out here in words what I mean by that one word. Your experience not entirely alien to me, as my own mother wanted me to be a girl so desperately so that she would also have someone to commiserate with. She got her two girls in the end. There are five of us. So much necessary information was hidden and or lost from the upcoming generations, I have come to find out. I've been working hard at finding those hidden pieces of information. They rarely spoke about things like this, even to their own families. My mother( all my grandparents had passed away before I came along, so my younger sister and I never got know them. It was us and our parents and siblings.) kept necessary and critical information away from us, "To protect us", from the world. They did have women's groups and gatherings, like a secret order, in the church. It seemed to me that a girl would be initiated into these groups at some point in their lives and be forever transformed into something less innocent, but that's my take on what I witnessed and surmised. So much knowledge was lost whenever someone "wouldn't speak about" such things. They said they wanted to protect us, but in the end it did more harm than help or protect. My child rearing policy has been full disclosure. My children know most of the hidden things I've discovered over my lifetime of research, plus the normal things. They are well rounded and have full knowledge of the world in which they live. Better prepared for life's ups and downs than I ever was. My mom told me often that she was "sending me out into the world like an innocent sheep." She did, I was, and I learned some of the hidden things she refused to pass along through life experiences, books and film.
Thank you, is what I'm getting at. It did shock me, but it does not surprise me. You don't get to be the kind of people we are without some tragedy and adversity to muddle through.
Much love, light, and especially respect,
X

Thank you so much for taking the time to share that with me! I'm glad to know it helped you as well. I know the tragedies in my life helped shape me and I am thankful they shaped me in the direction they did.

I hope you get all of the answers you seek and if you don't, I hope you are able to fully heal. Although, from reading your blog, I know you are a great person. And, you have raised your kids better.

Like @sunscape said, "All one can do in life is to raise the next generation in a better, kinder and more loving way than the one before."

Much love, light, and especially respect to you too.

Exactly.
X

Oh my that was some heart tugging story you put out here @debralee I could almost feel your pain and embarrassment as I read it. It was certainly another time and place back then and our grandparents endured so much. It is a wonder that our parents were not more scarred than they were, although I know they probable hid there's from the children. You brought back many flashbacks from my youth as I read your story. Thank goodness time does heal and our hearts one day forgive and let go as we try to understand. All one can do in life is to raise the next generation in a better, kinder and more loving way than the one before. Thank you for sharing from your heart.

Thanks @sunscape although I am sorry it brought back flashbacks for you. Time and knowledge do allow us to heal. I agree, all we can do is try to raise our children better.

Absolutely, it is our role to do better. I am proud of you and know that it is not easy to forgive and release those that brought us pain. I have spent years doing so and now have no regrets or remorse at all. The past is over and I realize it made me so much stronger and wiser and definitely more loving towards others.

I am proud of you too, its not easy to find people who have came to the other side of this with the right attitude. Too many people become toxic from it.

This is a really well written post @debralee. It makes me sad that girls are still not valued as highly as boys by certain sections of society. This really makes no sense to me.

While your story sounds quite horrible and stressful for any girl to endure, I'm glad that you were able to overcome your anger eventually. I really liked that you tried to see this from your grandmother's perspective. It seems that she had some shit to deal with herself, which would have shaped who she became. Obviously it doesn't excuse what she did to you, but it does provide some context as to why this happened.

Thanks so much. It makes no sense to me either.

I'm glad I never cut her out of my life. It took time for her to tell me her stories and for me to gain the understanding that I have. It certainly helped me to get past it all.

Long after she got grandsons, (they are all younger than me), she told me that she wished she had of appreciated me more as a child. I guess they gave her hell. lol

Oh nice. That's something at least, that she reflected upon her behaviour.

The way one grows up of course develops there mind set and what they consider to be right or wrong

I think we have t acccept that but we also have to be strong in our own views if we truly believe our views are based on what is best for us and those around us and not hurting anyone else

I think you made good choices with how your children had time with your grandmother

Thanks @tattoodjay I've tried to forgive her without making excuses for her. At the same time I've tried to better understand what drove her thought process. I probably over analyzed, I'm good at that. LOL

I think many of us over analyze to some degree or other
Forgiveness is a virtue that I s challenging at the mes but most often the best way

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07