The long and short of it

in #writing6 years ago

once.jpg

I have many aspirations when it comes to my writing. Fiction and non-fiction, short stories and novels, blogs and magazine articles, poems and more.

As much as I want to tackle all of these at once,I do not live alone in the forest where time feel limitless. Between a full time job and a family, my writing time is made up of small pockets where there are no fire to put out. But I make no excuse, not here and not to myself. I can find the time even if I have to Frankenstein bits and pieces together and when it comes to early mornings, 4:30 AM is my friend.

My problem lies more with what to focus on. If am am being honest with myself, right now I am enjoying writing shorter pieces such as this blogs or short stories. Not only can I write an entire piece in a day or two but I also love how I can create and tryout multiple projects and multiple genres with out fully committing to any of them.

I still want to write my novel. I am planning on joining the nanowrimo this November for that. One month of intense writing on a single topic then back to the short game.

If you have never heard of nanowrimo, its all about writing a novel of at least 50,000 words between the first of November and the thirty first of November. (goggle for a better description)

And that's the long and short of it. I have a strategy of sorts, a plan... But that's another post :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28