You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Losing Shirley

in #writing6 years ago

Touching story @willymac.
I am willing to bet that losing the girl you have a crush on due to her father making it as a songwriter doesn't happen all that often. =p
My childhood crush moved away cause her dad got a job as a heavy equipment operator which probably happens more often.
But it definitely adds a compelling element to your own timeline in that a song that came out meant something special to you that it did to no one else.

Sort:  

Funny, but I never thought about it that way. I was always rather proud that I heard my Dad and Mr. Trader singing and playing the song on our front porch before the rest of the world heard "that other version" from Hank Snow.

I think my relationship with Shirley would have changed after that, anyway. After seeing her with new clothes and a new hair cut, she looked so much more grown up to me I would have been intimidated and felt outclassed. She was even more appealing and not at all the ragamuffin kid she had been days before.

Such fragile things are the perceptions of youth, and such precious memories they leave.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65754.91
ETH 2670.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88