Sort:  

For the first two years I simply panicked the moment I realized I was dreaming. During that time, I ‘taught’ myself a trick to wake up again.
Almost 2 years ago, I talked about it to a friend of mine, and she told me there was nothing to be afraid of. That it was my dream, and that I was in control. That very night I had another one, and I was indeed fully in control.
They don’t happen as often as they used to these days, but just a couple of weeks ago I had one where I woke up in another dream 8 times in a row. I mean, i thought I woke up, then realized I was dreaming. ‘Woke up’ again, but still in a dream. 8 times in a row (don’t know how I managed to keep count -lol). That was really desorientating. I spent the first hour being awake checking things, touching things, to check I was really awake. That one really messed with my mind.

The one this morning was a bit of both. It was the first time since the one two years ago that I felt fully in control. I made things happen, by choice.
I heard my cats in the real world make noise, and it was a ‘conscious’ choice not to wake up because of it.
Then again, I was so sure I heard my girlfriend come up the stairs, but when I woke up there was nothing. So little bit of both: an adventure ánd desorientating

I'm curious, are you also a very visual learner?

Just a thought....I wonder if you did a little meditation and used this lucid dreaming method at will....how that would change your real world experience....like you are "creating " new experiences for yourself, .....just be sure you're not conjuring up some zombie apocolypse though ..lol

Lol.
I am indeed a visual learner.

I however believe that dreams are meant to process your (un)conscious experiences - I don’t know the right word in English: process, digest, assimilate??

Which means I think controlling them is not a good idea. The reason I used to freak out the moment I realized I was dreaming, is because I’m a terrible control freak in day-to-day life.
The fact that I’m starting to have control in my dreams, I don’t really see that as a plus in my journey of personal growth - lol

Aaah..yeah..I see how that wouldn't be such a good idea.

Feel so bad that I'm fascinated and probing on something that's clearly not so fun for you.

I wish you all the best in your dream world....hope you can unwind in those dreams ;)

Cheers

Don’t feel bad. The whole ‘analyzing-what-is-good-for-my-personal-growth’-thing is like a second nature to me. Lol, it’s a control-thing too.

I am just as fascinated. It might not be good for me, but apparently it is on my path for now. And it wás kinda fun. Lol

Guess it takes one to know one ;)

Cheers. Keep the good stuff coming @simplymike

8 times!? Yikes I had one like that but only went 4 dreams deep! Agreed, it really messes with you! I have only had 1 lucid dream that I remember and I was so excited, in the dream, that it woke me up. So it didn't last too long, but I knew I was in full control. It's truly an awesome experience. I wish I could have more! haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58956.47
ETH 2517.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48