Thoughts from a bench | Ridin' Solo doesn´t mean being lonely

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190216_133717412.jpg

I met a 19 year old Finnish girl a few days ago. We had one of those DMC´s I love so much, not only because of the rich topics and experience I get from them, but also because I get to connect and bond with people in a way I don´t really have a chance to, at least not right now.

Oh right, if you are new to my posts, a DMC is a Deep Meaningful Conversation. You know, one of those we don´t really have anymore, wether it is because we are always in a hurry, or maybe because we don´t care about connecting with other people, or perhaps we are not brave enough to open ourselves to other people and show our true self, without barriers, walls or prejudice.

Back on the topic. I don´t really have DMC´s anymore because for the past two years I´ve been on the move, not staying in a place for more than a few weeks - if I´m lucky, some other times I just spend a few days per place.

Moving from place to place so much and so frequently has its perks. Actually, it has more perks or pros than cons. Of course, this is all coming from a nomad mindset person, if the author of this post was a housewife or a student, then I´m pretty sure this statement would be far from their reality.

It´s funny how reality depends on the beholder. There is only one reality - unless you believe in the multiverse theory, but that´s too off topic, I´ll write about that on another post - but, this reality´s outcome varies depending on who´s living it. Again, that´s off topic, the point is, the perks of moving so much and very frequently.

This Finnish girl was young, full of energy and with a lot to learn from life. In a way, I saw myself in her while having our conversation. Dreading being alone, fearing feeling left out, worrying too much about things that aren´t worth her stress; at the same time, her energy, way of looking at life and search of adventure made our conversation a very interesting one.

In the end, after that conversation and meditating about it, I realized I´ve been alone for a little more than two years. I mean alone as in, haven´t had any meaningful romantic relationship - apart from a few flash-like flings that, while intense, too short to be taken like more than that, flashes - or IRL friendships/relationships. Now, before you say anything, of course you are my friends, Steemians. But our online relationship can´t possibly substitute direct contact and physical interaction, even if we´ve been chatting and getting to know each other for more than a year now. I appreciate, value and cherish our friendship, but as I told the Finnish girl, human beings crave P2P engagement, feeling part of a group and having a sense of belonging. While the online world provides all of this, the physical version of these interactions will always kick the online´s ass.

Having said that, I don´t feel lonely.

Despite being alone for the past years, and after a few struggles - maybe more than a few -, I learned how to be by myself, or should I say with myself? I became my best friend, I found the key to enjoy Ridin' Solo and to not depend on anyone else/anything else rather than Eric. I doesn´t really matter if I´m surrounded by people in a hostel or if I´m all alone in a beach, as long as I´m with myself, I don´t really feel lonely.

I learned how to get the most out of any DMC that may happen, without trying to force them, without searching for the connection or bond with any random people. After all, these conversations happen when there is sinchronicity and chemistry between those having it, and you can´t force them no matter how much you want it. These conversations are food for my soul. They can happen three times a week with different people or they can happen once every month, it all depends on the energy surrounding me and the people around me.

You see, once you realize you need to be able to be alone and not feel lonely, in order to be able to give yourself completely to the other person, being by yourself is the best thing that can happen to you. Because being with someone becomes a choice and not a necessity. Sharing your time and love is a matter of decision and not of fear of being alone. You don´t need to surround yourself with people you don´t want, just to not feel lonely. You value your [insert your name here] time. Eric time becomes one of the things you value more in life, and you won´t share that time only with people you want to.

I still have a lot to learn and I´m not saying I hold the key against loneliness, and there may be more than one way to achieve it (can it be achieved?, or is it a state of mind? I´m not sure).

All I can say is, learn to love your Eric time - or Michael, Sarah or Pedro time. Once you find out the best company you can have is yourself, lonely times are past you :)

Sort:  

Wise words from a wise man :) I can only say that having those DMC's are such a blessing! I don't have them that often either, but every once in a while out of nowhere me and (most of the times) my boyfriend have one of these.. and it's usually to reflect once again on the past years, and the future.. see if we still are on the same path.. and luckily we are until now :)

Have a great weekend!

Most of my learnings and experiences come from meditation and thinking after having DMCs! When I was back home I used to have them all the time with some of my closest friends and family. It's so cool that you can have those with your boyfriend, I think one of the keys for a successful relationship is to be able to have this kind of conversations with your partner :)

R’amen!

It is funny to read all that, as the last few days i have been realizing that i started wilting when i sedentarized.

There are two types of loneliness...

The one that is ME/You time because you choose so and the impossed one... the later is not healthy.

Thanks for sharing, somehow it helped to read.

Imposed loneliness can be life deppressing if not dealt with, and it's very sad that so many people suffer from this, especially because today's society despite having so many ways of communicating, we are more distant from meaningful relationships more than ever. I'm glad you liked the post man, I learned a lot while thinking about it, then learned more while writing it and then, I'm re reading it now and damn, I'm still learning from the topic.

I decided to break my chains a few days ago, even if it is only on the online world while awaiting the entanglement that will give me back real freedom!

Reading you played a small part on it as you posted it as i was getting there on my own.

Thank you!

HUuuu You need having more of those DMC's see now your nomad soul's inner glow seems to light up radiating outward & magnifying your outer beauty!😃 hoho and those glasses are the cherry on top!🤓🍒☄☄☄

Posted using Partiko Android

Ahaha don't make me blush Jeni! Haha
The glasses have a minor degree of augment, they are mostly for protecting my eyes from the PC light! But I'm glad (and red) that you liked the pic so much :)))

I love this :) i think knowing how to do this and he with yourself is very important. Don't think I'm quite there, though. But I suppose no good thing comes easy.
I don't think you should ever depend on someone else for your happiness. You never know when they might stop being part of your life (willingly or no) and then, where does that leave you?

PS: I'm not new to your blog and I still had to Google DMC :P thought for a while you meant destination management company (that's what Google came up with...)

Posted using Partiko Android

I also enjoy me time and it often is what gets me the energy to continue forward when times get rough but having a family now has given me additional perspective which is sometimes awkward as I feel the need to show something different to be an example. Being a solitary person has its challenges for those not built for it which is what I don’t want for my daughter. Perhaps future DMCs will touch upon that with her...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Solitary people (when they don't like it or wish it could be different) suffer a lot from loneliness... I'm not sure how or if something should be done to help these people relate or share their experiences, what I'm sure about is that anything we can do anything to fight loneliness (when it's unwanted) as best as we can!

There used to be communities of anchorites, which sounds like an oxymoron, but they lived in solitude save for some food being brought to them, usually without actual human contact.
I think we need more such sanctuaries, where one can go off-grid for an extended period. More common in Asia nowadays.

Hi @anomadsoul!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.273 which ranks you at #228 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 187 contributions, your post is ranked at #10.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Really great post! Thank you for sharing!
(Would be great if you take a look of my latest work)

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61292.24
ETH 2999.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76