"The Voice of Intelligence is Drowned Out by the Roar of Fear"

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

It is Ignored by the Voice of Desire

It is Contradicted by the Voice of Shame

It is Biased by Hate and Extinguished by Anger

Most of All...

It is Silenced by Ignorance  - Karl A. Menninger

Trying to remember when I began to fall in love with 'words' expressed in a variety of ways, has proven too difficult for me, yet not disturbingly so; I'm an 'old' cloudy mind.

Having a clouded mind is not always such a bad thing...it can save us from reliving past painful events, or help diminish the physiological effect/affect; those sensory triggers unleash within us. In short...the traumatic memories fuck us up a lot less, the more senile we become. 

With this in mind, I've decided to lovingly embrace the ever darkening veil of senility which has descended before my minds eye...I 'do' feel less disturbed these days from thoughts of the past (The painful ones) What does seem more challenging is accepting the faded memories of those 'happy' times; the ones that a young vivid mind could call into play at any given time to re-live with joy.

My old mind disturbs me at times though, especially when I'm trying to recall with clarity, some things that I've learned along my chosen path...or...'try' to learn 'now'. On some days, I'm attempting to 're-learn' a skill in which I had pretty much mastered years ago; like designing and constructing a fairly simple carpentry project. Automatic second nature doesn't kick in as quickly as before, and it is 'not solely due to lack of practice or interest...it is partly due to dis-functioning, old brain cells...

Anyway...I don't know what all this has to do with the opening quote by Karl A. Menninger, because it's time for my 'Old Man Nap'  . After I'm refreshed from all this exhaustion of thought, I might remember, but might not...So, if any of you who read this has a clue, you can hit me up in the comment section below if you care to.

If NOT...that's okay too, because I'll probably not be able to benefit from any interesting postulations anyway; I'll forget them soon enough. Especially the 'good' ones.

"A flaw stays longer in the mind, than 'blind' perfection." 

- I forgot who this quote was by, so I can't rightfully attribute it, but I remember it was related to, or made reference to a diamond... 

See what I mean about that dark 'mind veil' of old age? Oh shit...I think I left something warming up on the stove; I smell something burning...??? Gotta go-

See ya when I see ya.

Ciao


Another Mixed up Muddled, Mess from the Mind of @AngryMan on Steemit Jan. 26, 2019


Menninger Image ~ Google Images

Old Man Image ~ Pixabay.com

Sort:  

I'd love to comment on such a great post..... but I've forgotten what it was about...

It was about...ahhhh...hmmnnnn, I forgot too???? Oh well, thanks for the thought @lucylin :>)

....who is this, do I know you?

Yeah...we used to go to different schools together. You sat at the front of the class, and I sat on the roof. Geezzz...your memory is such a sieve....

Are you the bastard that kept spitting paper balls down at me?

Hello @angryman, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

I'm sure this was great. I just read it too, but...

(lol)

Hey...Reading it is good enough @mepatriot . Have a happy day.

LOL...You too, brother!

Congratulations @angryman! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 150 posts. Your next target is to reach 200 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33