You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Give Me Liberty, or Give Me Death ?

in #writing7 years ago

I agree with your sentiment. I don't think there ever was a time in which individuals should have petitioned politely to their overlords for the right to own their bodies and their property. Even still, if that ever was an option, its time is well-past.

The only point I disagree with you on is mass civil disobedience. I'm not stupid enough to think that simply ignoring the state is going to make it go away, but without the support of culture behind any action you or I or a group of us may take, it's doomed to fail. Civil disobedience is a steep price to pay to wake a handful of people up. That's why I agree with you about educating people to liberty and freedom. Once the culture shifts, the change becomes inevitable and, more importantly, lasting.

Sort:  

Civil disobedience is just one of many tools we can use. We always have to be smart in whatever
we do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65317.17
ETH 2646.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86