Writer's block

in #writer6 years ago

I seem

to have writer's block, but then I realize that as soon as I open the software to write, the words flow. I know this. It has happened too many times to discount it. It's like talking. I can sit quietly at a party observing and enjoying the observations, but let someone introduce me and mention my haunted house or my books and I'll talk their ears off.

0-crazy20lady.gif

So,

what exactly is writer's block? For some it may be sitting in front of their computer or typewriter or notebook and not finding any words. For me, it is more of a laziness or maybe even fear. A fear of trying to write and not finding the words. What could cause such fear? I honestly don't know. I have never sat down to write and not found any words.

redline.jpg

Why

then do I go for days without writing? All it would take is to open the software. Hell, I leave it open, but it gets hidden behind twitter and steemit and FB. One little click is all it would take and the story would pour out of me like sugar from the bag, honey from the comb, or water from the brook.

redline.jpg

Must

I force myself to write as if it were a job that I had to clock in for? That may be the case, after all. Maybe I should dig out the old time card clock and put it to good use again. Set my hours and work it like a job. That may be the answer. I have had too much freedom since retiring. I have become lazy, like a child on summer vacation from school.

image011.gif

I wish

I could say that I'm busy doing so many things I've always wanted to do, but the truth is, I've become a recluse. I rarely leave the house. When I do, it's a burden. Do we really need groceries? Do we really need to meetup with the family? Didn't we just do that last month? Why should I get up from the couch? It's perfectly molded to my butt at this point.

redline.jpg

Lethargy:

a lack of energy and enthusiasm. That's me. I don't have writer's block. I have lethargy. What do I do about it? "A body in motion tends to remain in motion." I need to move. How will that help my writing? I don't know but it got me to write this and that's a start. Good luck to you on your journey. Mine is going to have to include more activity I suspect.

0cl1.jpg
@Lahvista

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69