Uptown Girl

in #writer7 years ago (edited)

Many months ago and in the middle of the night, I was wide awake with the realization that I was in a serious rut and that the only way out was to change everything in a big way.  So I listed my mobile home on the beach which should have provided an idyllic life but for four years was anything but for various reasons.  Then, I waited.  As summer waned on, actually breezed by quickly, one day I had a bidding war on my hands with two couples arriving to view my place at the very same time, and three others texting me wildly.  I had a sale! An epic sale which closed in 8 days! I was moving from a one level home to a loft-style, vintage apartment above a pharmacy in a small town.  My dream home had sixteen stairs.  I had worked and live on one level with no steps for more than ten years and the sixteen stairs were something I actually feared.  I have been here twelve days now.  By day five, I was all settled in with pictures hanging on the walls and with all the many trips up and down the sixteen steps, I am no longer winded at the top.  Things are definitely on the upswing!  I am loving the convenience of living uptown.  The grocery store, pizza shop and LCBO are directly across the street along with two banks, a Chinese restaurant, laundramat, Italian cuisine and a subshop. I would like to say that the sixteen steps have helped me drop a few pounds but with all the eateries close by, I think I am breaking even.  Or I thought so when I stepped on the scale and yet, I slipped into a pair of jeans today that I didn't have a hope and prayer of getting done up just a short month ago. Things are definitely looking up for this Uptown girl!

Sort:  

Yea! What a cute post! Thanks for sharing. It's amazing how little changes can make such an impact. I look forward to reading more of your adventures!

thank you so much @apanamamama! I will follow you as well since I am grandmamma to two sets of twins and their older brothers. I am sure we have lots to share.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83