Cultural Relativism

in #worldofculture4 years ago

Learn to respect the cultures of other people. When you travel to other places, do not think that your culture is better than theirs.
My stay in Yoruba land helped me to see the world from another perspective. Before traveling to the West, I knew little about the Yoruba culture from secondary school history, on getting there I began to appreciate the culture more.
At first, everything seemed strange, the pattern of greetings, the frequent use of local dialect at where we consider “official”, the foods and how they are being cooked, the way road users communicate with hand signs esp micra drivers, their dressing, music etc.

Of all these, the most frustrating for me was the language-barrier, so I decided I was going to learn how to speak their language small small, I greet Yoruba people like the Yorubas do, ate their food, tried out their outfits, sang their songs (with lots of tongue biting), learnt about their gods and also learnt how their local meals are being prepared just so I know. I realized later, that these little efforts brought some favors my way, as some of them find it impressive and respectful that you have interest in their culture.
There’s something called cultural relativism, it is the notion that no culture is superior to another. It is the concept of embracing another culture and suspending your sense of what you necessarily considered to be right.
That instead of developing a form of resentment, you seek to understand why people do they things they do before you criticize or don’t criticize.
Cultural relativism is the opposite of ethnocentrism. It demands a level of adaptability.
Even some workplaces and organizations have cultures too. That’s a different discussion on its own.
At Ibadan, you do not sit backing a lady on a bike, it is considered inappropriate. While I did not clearly understand this, I began to ask questions. In my understanding, I felt having the lady in the middle and the man at the back offers some form of protection. But I had to drop that thought there, and just say, okay, this is how it’s done here.
On a global context, if you are working across cultures, or on a visit to an unknown land for business or leisure, this concept will also help you enjoy your stay with ease.
Learn to respect cultures, and people of different backgrounds, it will help you go a long way.
Happy weekend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66