You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your job is to enjoy your life

in #work7 years ago

This is the kind of sentiment to which I think 'it would be nice if it were actually true'. Unfortunately the reality is that just finding ways to be help people and following your creative passions will not guarantee that you'll earn enough to pay the bills if you're already 'locked in' to the rent/ family trap.

However, I certainly agree that one shouldn't take work too seriously - I personally regard myself as coming to the end of a 16 year break from life, i.e. I'm quitting a 16 year career in teaching at the end of this year 'cos I've just had enough of it.

Back to my first point - after 16 years of a proper job and a big fat wad of cash in the bank, I can now follow your advice and earn money by doing pretty much what I want, which is just write about shit that interests me, but that, even with the @curie upvote trail on my side ain't gonna being me home $3000 every month!

Sort:  

heh! well it takes all sorts to make a world :) All I can say is it works for me and I see it working for many others around me. You go your way, I'll go mine.

I've been in lots of those traps but there are also lots of ways out of them.

Love & peace and good luck in your new adventure. I hope you stick around here because I can totally see you bringing in £3k a month here if you want to.

And it'll work for me too, all I'd like us to realise is that this cannot be generalised to anything like the majority of people in the world, at least not under the present system. But basically, we're lucky, and I'd just like more people to acknowledge this!

I forgot to say, nice photo above btw.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64056.77
ETH 2654.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83