You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mysteries of Life: Time, Tasks and the Ways We Avoid Working

in #work7 years ago

I always feel so sad for people who spend every moment they are out of work talking about how they can’t wait for their next vacation. Funny thing enough they spend a lot time at work complaining at life at home. When they are on vacation they spend large amounts of it time droning on about the next time they get time off. But wait a moment???? You just wasted your vacation complaining about the thing you hate…. What kind of logic is this?

I’ve tied my work life into my non-work life to a point I just don’t know how many hours I spend on things anymore. Do I work 3, or 12, or 18hours a day 7 days a week? Was my last “vacation” during that hurricane that knocked our power out for half a week? Beats me. Watching the clock seems to be a waste of time.

I just do things till I just can’t anymore and then I find something new till I can’t anymore. So I tend to think things in terms of task-based. If something takes me 1 hour or 100 it's irreverent as it had to be done anyways.

People waste too much time stress over lost time. Why? That just wastes more time. Some people seem to do a billion things in a day while others just waste it away watching the time pass by them. While I put up a good front about being “existed” it’s Friday I really don’t care. It means nothing to me. I enjoy all days of the week. When I’m old and near death I would have wished I never wished away a single day in my life like I have for so long.

Sort:  

Mic drop...

The entire nature of work is changing so much that this whole discussion will become obsolete in another 10 years... or maybe 20 years? Automation and mechanization will take over so many jobs by 2050 that the whole notion of a "job" will be virtually unrecognizable through today's lens of perception.

A lot of skeptics (mostly economic conservatives) have their doubts about the viability of a "creativity based" economy, but we are already building it. It may not seem that way, directly... but we can even just use an example like Steemit; it's the gamification of social media. And we're all both workers, and builders of the economy. People come in and build apps, and create things and trade them. Just a tiny and very early example of a process that will take on landslide proportions in another decade.

And here's one for you... this isn't even NEW. We don't really pay much attention to it, but Second Life started creating the first virtual space "Alt Economy" already in 2003.

Entropia Universe January 30, 2003 >Second Life june 23, 2003 ? Maybe there was even something sooner. Or maybe EU was not developed enough at that point to be considering an alternative economy. I definitely was not around for the start of either.

While I played a little bit of second life I really only was a fisher and sometimes did some mining.

In Entropia Universe I mined high markup ores and work with a small group of miners so we had very detailed maps of where to find things.

Help someone run their shop and sold my own things in their shop as well. Inventorying, checking on prices in auction house.

Gather materials and turn them into hard to get things that people had no clue how to acquire. $$$$$$

Piloted spaceship and booked travel arrangements. (how many people can stay they made money doing that lol)

I have always enjoyed the Alt economy more than normal life stuff. I’ve been involved here or there already in it in some form for another for many years :)

@denmarkguy "the gamification of social media" Can I use that term. It's brilliant.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65754.91
ETH 2670.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88