The Slave/Master mindset "Giving you work"

in #work7 years ago (edited)

"Giving You Work"

A phrase I have heard throughout my life. Mostly used by those holding the larger check book and a superiority complex.

-This phrase at times can simply mean.

●You've been commissioned to do a job because we felt like you were the best choice.

-Or.

● ( Insert pompus British aristocrat accent here) "Ewww... If not for us benevolent masters and overlords all you mindless peasants would starve, now bow down and kiss our shoe as we allow you to work"

This (the latter usage) is something that is very difficult for me to understand.

I mean when I was ten years old mowing lawns for five bucks a piece this seemed plausible. After all I was probably pretty close to the pinnacle of my economic value at that time.

Even then , my perception did not negate the fact that I was making a purely voluntary (and mutually benficial exchange) with my neighbors.

Obviously they were "giving me work," but I was also giving them a service that they clearly valued more than five dollars in their wallet, or they would have never called me back for a second, or third round.

Some people seem to never get this, or maybe they get it, they just don't let on that they get it.

●Almost any manager or business owner knows that when they hire someone it isn't to give them a salary , it is because they will bring value to a company or an organization.

●When I buy a new phone I'm not "giving" the guy at the sales counter work. At least no more so than I am gaining a device that I have no idea how to produce myself that makes my life and work more effective, entertaining, etc.

●Sometimes I'll hire someone to do work I can perfectly well do, but don't have the time or desire to do it. I can cut my own grass, but maybe my life is better spent managing my business or spending time with family many times it just comes down to trade-offs.

The Slave and master relationship

image

The mindset seems to be conditioned into much of our society.

I'll argue that the Prussian model school system used in the US AKA the meat grinder that many people put their children through is one of the primary reasons behind this.

●Schools teach obedience to authority not critical thinking.

● Schools teach students that there are rulers and followers. There is very little room for self guidance and negotiations. Just try it in a traditional classroom setting some time and see how it works out.

● Schools teach that you are too irresponsible, and dense to know when you need to use the restroom, eat, speak, or pick a spot to sit.

Every one of these examples is a clear statement about what schools really are: Drone factories.

Is it any wonder that most people who come out are followers who don't understand the most rudimentary basics about their value or self worth?
Those who somehow survive the onslaught often times become dominators, because this is all they have seen their entire lives.

The choice is not between being a slave or being a master.

The choice should be. Can we live in peace with one another and realize the unique value that each person has.

Selah

A Great video on this concept and how it relates to the job market below.

Photo credits

-hagadot.com (slave/master image)

Sort:  

Schools teach students that there are rulers and followers there is very little room for self guidance and negotiations. Just try it in a traditional classroom setting some time and see how it works out.

Yes agree 100 %

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82