Reclaimed Wood Kitchen Island

in #woodworking6 years ago

sonsofsawdust_16229094_612280972295784_7420465587718979584_n.jpg

Among the many projects we had going last year this was one of our favorites, a new kitchen island made from old wood. During the renovation of this early 1900's house in Athens, GA the homeowners had to remove some of the original floor joists. Fortunately the old wood was saved and we we able to repurpose it into this beautiful island. Please don't ever throw away old wood. What could have been tossed into the landfill has now become the centerpiece of this lovely renovated space.

Sort:  

This is truly beautiful. I love old wood. I have an old house (300 years old this year) that was built in 1718. The wide planks in the ceiling and floors are amazing and would be hard to find today. This is really inspiring as I want to redo our kitchen counters in the house we are in now (the 300 year old one we now use as a summer rental business) I really love the look. What do you use to finish it so it stays water tight? I thought of spar varnish, like you use on a boat, but it often yellow/oranges the wood. I'm a new follower too, as I love wood pieces. I'm also an artist.

It makes a nice contrast with the old and the new.

Thanks @Jist! Can't beat the character of the old wood.

Oh my gosh this is soooo beautiful!!

Thanks bunnymoney! It was fun to build. Glad you like it!

What a beautiful wooden top on the center island. Love it. 🐓🐓
Resteemed.

Love it so much bette than all the plastic crap most people have :) 💯🐒

Very nice! And such good advice - never throw away old wood! It has such character and beauty that new wood has not had the chance to develop, yet. I just built a new chicken coop completely using old wood from a barn addition I tore down last month.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21