What Makes Me Happy? - Day 195 - Daily Haiku -- Wondrous Wednesday - Ten Things for which I am Grateful

in #wondrouswednesday6 years ago (edited)

20180723_145615 - Race - Human tshirt - detail.jpg
My favorite t-shirt

Ten things that make me happy and/or grateful

What makes me happy?
What fills me with gratitude?
There are so many!

Back before Vishen Lakhiani started Mindvalley.com, he started a little website called gratitudelog.com, where you could setup an account and post what you were grateful for. The aim was to make keeping the gratitude log a daily practice.

There was even a minor social aspect to it, as others could see what you posted, and comment if they chose to do so. I had a number of comments over time that people really liked some of my posts on what I was grateful for, and why.

Unfortunately, gratitudelog.com no longer exists, though I have requested repeatedly that they reactivate the site, but it was my first introduction into keeping a gratitude log, which I have continued to do off and on ever since.

And I have found that, without exception, when I am keeping a gratitude log, and adding to it regularly, I am happier than when I am not.

Obviously this is my own experience, and thus not scientifically validated, but there have been clinical studies with similar results, so there is something to it.

So here is my decidedly unscientific, but honest, list of things that I am grateful for right here and now, acknowledging that if you ask me tomorrow, I'll likely come up with an entirely different list. ;-)

TEN:
I am grateful that, when driving home tonight, when an animal crossed unexpectedly right in front of my car, in front of my next-door-neighbor's house, I was able to stop in time and not hit it.

I think it was a raccoon, but may have been an overweight cat, but I actually got out of my car to make certain that I hadn't hit it; it had effectively played chicken with my car. No sign of it, so I did not hit it, which definitely made me happy.

NINE:
I am grateful that night, when I started to sit at my desk and belatedly realized that Truffle had gotten there first, I managed to somehow balance well enough that I didn't put my full weight on her, and avoided squashing her.

This was pretty much immediately after missing the animal in the road, so to miss that animal only to squash my own kitten by sitting on her would have been just too depressing. So I'm very grateful that my sense of balance, however awkward, saved the day.

EIGHT:
I am grateful for working air conditioning. I mentioned earlier in Discord that we had an unexpected guest this weekend, but I don't think I mentioned that our central air conditioner had ceased to blow cold the following night, and our temps were due to be in the 90s . . . in a house with virtually no insulation. I called Al, our A/C guy, who is also a good friend, and he promised me he would be out the following morning. He was, and he fixed it, YAY!

Then, a few hours later, it stopped blowing cold again. And this was Saturday night. And Al does not work on Sunday. Ever. Damn. The temperature got up to 95 degrees outside, and 85 degrees inside. Yuck. I left him a message and prayed.

He came out Monday morning, even though he doesn't usually work on holidays, and replaced our run capacitor. Again. Evidently the one he installed Saturday went bad, which doesn't happen often, but it did this time. Oh, well. It's fixed now, thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

SEVEN:
I am grateful that Musica seems to be back to her old self, no longer in a panic over whatever was so upsetting her, and back to being loving and sweet (most of the time).

SIX:
I am grateful that our riding mower is back to working, as I was about to have to lay in machetes and scythes to hack through the thick jungle undergrowth.

Kidding aside, our grass is ridiculously high, as we had to wait several weeks for the correct part, so even just being able to make a few passes around the perimeter made me feel better. Hopefully the weather will cooperate so that I can complete he mowing by this weekend, at which point it will be about time to start it once again.

FIVE:
I am grateful that Lolo's meds are working, which consist of three Benadryl twice daily wrapped in ham, so that he is no longer biting his tail raw due to his allergies to fleas and chiggers.

He has been a MUCH happier boy for the past couple of months, which is a godsend, and it has no doubt added substantially to his quality of life.

FOUR:
I am grateful for my ongoing studies, especially my concurrent studies of Vishen Lakhiani's book “The Code of the Extraordinary Life,” with the Mindvalley “Quest for Personal Mastery,” taught by the incomparable Dr. Srikumar Rao. The book comes with its own lesson plan, and the two programs dovetailed very nicely together, giving me greater insights than If I had taken them completely separately.

I am strongly considering going through both programs once again, as repeating this sort of program tends to lead to further and deeper insights, and I am hoping that Marek may join me on the journey this time. I'm grateful that we have the opportunity.

THREE:
I am grateful for the Internet, for the increased speed and opportunities for communication, research and education, for the ability to look up complex information from the convenience of my phone, and for the intelligence and wisdom to put it all aside on occasion when I need a breather.

TWO:
I am grateful for Steemit, grateful that I found it when I did, grateful for all the great communities being built, for the friends I am making, and for the incredible explosion in opportunities for us all. We are truly living in exciting times.

ONE:
I am grateful for Marek, grateful to have finally found in one man both my lifemate and best friend, grateful for his humor and intelligence, for his honor and spiritual groundedness, for his honesty and tolerance, and for his ability to see me for who I really am, deeply, and love me for it, as I love him.

He is a truly amazing and wonderful man, even when we are disagreeing on something, and rarely in my life have I laughed so hard and so freely with anyone on such a frequent and ongoing basis.

Smart as hell, insightful, and hilarious. And did I mention that he speaks five languages? Yeah. That.

Those of you who have yet to meet him have something truly special in store. And the man can cook!!! Woo hoo!!! What more could I possibly want? ;-)

So there you have my list, or tonight's list, at any rate. Though Marek and my animals will always top the list.

Not to mention the friends I've recently met through @thealliance, and those I've yet to meet, but hope to soon, through @tribesteemup, @thewritersblock, @poetsunited @tribegloballove, @ghsc, @knot, @smg, and more . . .

Which reminds me of a conversation I had with my lifelong childhood friend, whom I've known from age six, and who is still a close friend, when we concluded that friends are the family we choose.

So there, in a nutshell, is what you all mean to me:

Friends are the family we choose.

Love you all.

This post, and all those from now until the end of 2018, I am dedicating to the work of #tarc and #yah, aka @rhondak's nonprofit dog rescue and @sircork's charity You Are Hope.

All SBDs earned from my posts will be evenly split between the two organizations.

#tarc #yah #ecotrain #ghsc #thirtydayhaikuchallenge #steemsugars #teamgirlpowa #womenofsteemit #steemusa #qurator #steemitbasicincome #knot #bethechange #chooselove #naturephotography #photography #neighbors #beauty #love #animals #dogs #rescue #adoption #spayandneuter #homesteading #permaculture #naturalhealing #dogrescue #dogsofsteemit #grace #poetry #philosophy #beablessing #naturalremedy #wildlife #atlantameetup #art #family #peace #tranquility #happiness #happy #gratitude

@edxserverus_5 - TSU Banner.png

SubscriptionPackOwner.png

TribeGlobalLove Banner.png

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

I am grateful for the Internet

:P

Fun read, glad you kept those animal angels alive!

Thanks, @sircork!
Yeah, me too. They've brought me through some very dark times.

We did go through a period like you described, though, when we were losing one animal after another, and it was seriously depressing. I got to a point that I was wondering whether this place was cursed, and whether we should just sell it and cut our losses. It was that bad.

We kept finding skulls; a horse, a coyote, a skeletized deer carcass; it seemed like this was the place where things came to die.

And, with the possible exception of a Muscovy duck that literally flew the coop, and I never found any sign of her, we didn't lose any animals to predators; most of them just lay down and died.

In the space of just over two years, we lost two Dominique chickens, two French angora rabbits, three Guinea pigs, three goats, three cats, and an untold number of fish.

The last two cats, Miod and Edit, both of which died young, and our baby goat, Vortex, all of whom I was strongly bonded to, just about did me in.

Vortex especially, since he literally died trying to get to me, accidentally hanging himself by his back hoof when he jumped the barn fence, which fifty feet further on he could have simply walked around. Damn. Our front yard is a graveyard.

Thankfully I've come to terms with it all, and if nothing else, it has made me even more effective at grief counseling, which I keep being called to by the people in my life. I've written a lot about these events in the past. Everything for a reason, I suppose.

Posted using Partiko Android

Jeez, just reread that and realized for real how depressing it all sounds.
Sorry if it brought you down, @sircork. Never my intention.

No, but for some reason, gina didnt tell me it was here. Now Imma cry.

Damn. Should have kept my mouth shut. ;-(

Nah, its alright, I'm busy managing an unruly crowd in a discord, waiting on an event that is running late. No time for crying in the steem game.

thank you for using my tag! That is quite a spectacular list!

Here's the contest for this week's #wondrouswednesday

Thanks @princessmewmew, just trying to keep it real. ;-)
I do have a great deal to be grateful for, and being able to take part in these challenges is a part of it, because they're fun!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @crescendoofpeace! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17