This is your chance to get one more witness vote

in #witness7 years ago

I need help understanding the job of a witness so that I can do a better job at selecting them and promoting the act of voting to others. My YouTube channel is growing and I think it would be a good idea to begin talking about the technical aspects of Steem.

My understanding is that witnesses create the blocks, meaning their servers organize the transactions within a block, would you say this is accurate?

Something I became aware of recently is that witnesses don't need to keep copies of the information we share, that instead people who have seeds, similar to nodes, are the ones keeping copies. Is this information correct?

I also understand that witnesses publish prices? Where do they get these prices from? Where do they publish to?

Who runs comparisons between the blocks/transactions to make sure the information is not corrupted?

Please let me know if you are a witness when answering my questions so that I am able to vote for you.

I might have more questions but right now this is what I need clarification on. Thanks!

Sort:  

I'll be honest, I'm not sure I know the answers to these questions. But here are my best guesses.

My understanding is that witnesses create the blocks, meaning their servers organize the transactions within a block, would you say this is accurate?

I believe that the witnesses approve the blocks. I do not think they actually create the blocks.

Something I became aware of recently is that witnesses don't need to keep copies of the information we share, that instead people who have seeds, similar to nodes, are the ones keeping copies. Is this information correct?

I think seed nodes are the nodes that keep track of the information as a backup (aka a seed) in case everything goes to hell.

I also understand that witnesses publish prices? Where do they get these prices from? Where do they publish to?

a) We get these prices by querying a hand full of exchanges. Here is what I use: https://github.com/Someguy123/steemfeed-js
b) I am not 100% sure where these prices are published to, maybe the network?? I know that it is not important to publish unless you are top 19.

Who runs comparisons between the blocks/transactions to make sure the information is not corrupted?

I believe this is the job of the witness.

I run a witness but just started last week. Still trying to figure out what exactly is going on under the hood. For now I just ask the server knowledgable Steemians here to help me out.

I could explain how the blockchain works, how Bitcoin nodes work and other general blockchain concepts, but I do not quite get the specifics of Steem nodes yet.

Sorry, hope something there was useful. Cheers!

Your follower :), and i like your posts. i see you also vote up ? @ronaldmcatee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70033.92
ETH 3504.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.81