Happy Witness Man

in #witness6 years ago

It's not official yet... but I'll have an official announcement coming soon.

What I've learned while tinkering with a node is that Witnesses do a ton of work for the steem blockchain.

There are witnesses working around the clock to verify your transactions and keep the blockchain running.

Most of us don't give our Witnesses the love they deserve, not because we don't appreciate them, but because we may not realize how much hard work it really is.

I finally decided to dive in because I really want to be a working member of this great platform. Content creation is rad but getting my hands dirty maybe even more fulfilling.

Right now I'm in full research and study mode.

When the time is right and I've put in the work I'll be launching a witness node.

Much love to my Steem friends. Proud to be a part of it

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/happymoneyman-happy-witness-man-1531956204547.png

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Anytime you would like some help I'm happy to offer it, I've only been a witness for about two weeks, so I'm only active rank #131

But I'm a systems girl so the set-up and admin is breezy for me.

I run a not-for-profit witness, you can read my statement here:
https://steemit.com/witness/@sapphic/sapphic-s-witness-statement-my-mother-let-me-tell-you-about-my-mother

tell us when you are set-up and running I probably have a vote spare to help a new witness cause being a witness is hard work, with not much reward for quite some time.

Hey, thanks so much @sapphic
I've been grinding on my server setup for a few days now. I'm getting close.
I'll probably take you up on your offer, so don't be too surprised if I reach out to you for some troubleshooting. Thank you thank you

This post is over 7 days old, so I am putting my upvote here.

howdy there @happymoneyman! this sounds really good and noble sir. The Witnesses aren't a volunteer position are they, with all that work? how do they get paid and who pays them? is there a corporate office somewhere?

haha well actually a lot of witnesses are "volunteer" to some extent.
I think if you get voted into the top 80 witnesses or somewhere around there you can break even on server costs. The top 21 witnesses make a decent profit and they respect the position as a full time job. Many of the lower level witnesses just do it as a way to add to the community. I'm going into it with a beginners mind and we'll see where it ends up. top 80 fingers crossed

thanks happymoneyman for the quick reply and I so appreciate this endeavor which you are undertaking. You said the "80 top witnesses"..my gosh how many are there? I've never heard anyone say.
and as Steemit grows I assume there will be even more needed.
are we able to vote for you as witness yet?

Welcome to the club, @happymoneyman!! I was like you, I felt the call to become a witness and show my support for the blockchain. I know you'll make an awesome witness. Looking forward to reading your witness app!! :)

Brandon, yea man I've seen your stuff. There is definitely a calling at some point to get more involved.

I used your tutorial for a lot of my setup. I'm just studying to make sure I'm ready before I launch.
It feels good to make a real contribution.
Talk to you soon. Thanks for the message

Awesome! I’m glad to hear that tutorial helped. Keep up the great work man!

@happymoneyman Believe it or not you are the main reason I'm not panic selling to get out. Watching your EOS interviews and learning you are so enthusiastic about this platform has kept me on an even keel for sticking it out here.

I'm sure there will be some changes coming and there should be. There's so much to know regarding how it actually works. But since you don't HAVE TO KNOW much to use STEEMIT many of us have never really looked into it

aweseome. Thanks for the note.
I feel the panic too sometimes. I try to take the signal that others are probably feeling the same... that means do the opposite.

I think we have a future with dpos. I try to stay open the idea that crypto moves quick, so I'm not a maximalist. I'll be first to jump ship if things are going down, but I think we are early in something big.
who knows if it's eos, steem, or something not invented. the important part is we keep our eyes open.
Happy to be on the trip with you

Well it is a fast moving sector and we are only as good as our leadership. It looks like you're on the fast track to leadership, so please keep us informed. Luke Stokes stokes my confidence as well. So true that everthing can turn on a dime.

Nice observation and exciting write up

I will personally be waiting for your official announcement

bravo

that is great @happymoneyman! Let me know when you go live and maybe we can get you on the show again sometime!

sounds great. I'll let you know when I'm live. I'd love to come chat again sometime. Thanks

@happymoneyman this is great news mate & my best wishes to you in doing so, I would really appreciate it if you could share your findings with us so that anyone aspiring to become a witness in the future can follow in your footsteps & put in the hard work & efforts into developing this platform, just a suggestion from me I think that you can share a complete "how to" guide for this which the community & patron can learn and benefit from.
Thanks !!!

So cool just let me know when to vote hahah :D

There are more than million steemians. I'm sure atleast 0.8 million people don't know who are witnesses and remaining people don't know their importance and they don't even use their 30 votes. Even I have my 25 votes ramaining and don't know whom to vote.

I congratulate you for wanting to be part of this work! very good for everyone! congratulations!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66297.29
ETH 2682.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87