TimCliff Witness Update 2017-05-21

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

Hello Everyone!

Here is what I've been up to since my last witness post:

  • I created a recruitment post to try and get more of the PeerPlays witnesses on Steemit, and posted it to PeerPlay's Telegram channel (the main hangout place for the PeerPlays community).
  • I submitted a pull request to update the links that new users see when they view their feed page, but there are no posts yet because they are not following anyone. This is a key page for retention, as pretty much all new users will see this at some point right after creating a new account.
  • I created the latest edition of the Reports from the Witnesses series. This report provides the community with an aggregated report of all the witness reports from the past week.
  • I have been helping many of the users in the steemit.chat "help" channel with various issues, mostly related to account creation.
  • I have been continuing to discuss the high SBD peg situation with many of the other witnesses.
  • I have continued to review and respond to issues in the steem and condenser GitHub repositories.
  • I have been crowd sourcing information gathering to put together some new posts. I paid 1 STEEM per qualified response for users who helped me collect recruitment related posts that other users have done. I am also currently paying 1 STEEM per qualified response for users who share their favorite features that have been added since they joined, or new features that they would still like to see.
  • I put together a post with information on many of the active contests that are taking place in the community, where users can earn STEEM/SBD by participating. The post can be seen here.
  • I am running a bounty for artists/graphic designers to help create an image to be used for a Steemit.com advertisement to run on Facebook. Details about the bounty can be found here.
  • I submitted a pull request to update some of the information found on the "Quick Start Guide" page (formally the "Welcome Page").

Forward Looking Plans:

  • I am planning to attend the Beyond Bitcoin show again on May 26. I will be talking about the Steem/Steemit platform, and my work as a witness. Details about the show can be seen in this announcement post.
  • I am working on a marketing post and Facebook advertising campaign try try and recruit potential new users to the platform.
  • There are a few condenser pull requests that I am hoping to complete. Details will be shared if/when I am able to successfully make the changes.
  • Continue my involvement with existing projects.

Some Information / Suggestions:

  • STEEM is in the final round for consideration to be added to a major Chinese exchange site BTCC. If you haven't done so already, please vote for STEEM here! If you want more info on what this is about, you can read about it in this post. Please vote!! We need all the support we can get to pull in to #1.
  • If you haven't checked out @jesta's new blockchain form website chainBB.com, you should read about it here.
  • Keep an eye out for @klye's new @tippy bot. You can read about it here.
  • There are exciting things happening with the development of the Steemshop platform by @samstonehill. You should check it out here.
  • For those of you following the "whale no voting" experiment, @abit announced here that the experiment will be ending after HF 19.
  • Another exciting development project is the new desktop wallet application Vessel created by @jesta!

Summary of Current Witness Parameters:

  • SBD Interest Rate: Due to the SBD peg consistently trading above $1.00, my interest rate is set to zero.
  • Price Discount: Due to the SBD peg consistently trading above $1.00, I have zero discount on my price feed. There are several witnesses who are charging a premium. I don't feel comfortable risking that users will harmed by converting SBD due to witness biasing, so I am not charging a premium at this time. I am still very concerned about the impacts of the SBD peg consistently trading above $1.00 though, and I continue to discuss various ideas/solutions with the other witnesses to try and resolve it.
  • Registration Fee: With the new code in HF 18, it costs 30x the registration fee to create an account (info from @abit). Based on this, my registration fee is set to 0.20 STEEM. This would be approximately $7.00 to register a new account without delegation at the current market price, or $0.25 plus $33.50 of delegated SP for a delegated account. I would prefer to have it even less than this, so that non-delegated accounts were in the $3-5 range, but @smooth brought up a very good point that users with less than 5-6 SP are likely to run into bandwidth limitations. Therefore, 0.20 STEEM is as low as I can go without risking users being unable to use their accounts.

I welcome feedback if you think there are things that I can be doing better as a witness. If you think I am doing a great job, I would really appreciate your witness vote!

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Thanks everyone for reading my witness report!

Sort:  

I put together a post with information on many of the active contests that are taking place in the community, where users can earn STEEM/SBD by participating. The post can be seen here.

Thank you, again, for that post! That visibility was the catalyst for a half dozen entries (and growing) for the #steemitstoryslam competition. The most people AND entries submitted ever.

Helluva boost and much appreciated!

That's awesome!! Glad to hear :)

@timcliff you got my vote, don't know if you remember but you followed up on my request in steemchat.com and saw that i got approved, Just wanted to say keep up the great work you're doing for this community and please let me know if there's anything i can do to help!

Cool, thank you!

Welcome dear and i have already vote you for witnesses.

Cool, thanks :)

Thank you for Steem!!! 😀

Thank you @timcliff for all the time and effort you put into making Steemit the worthwhile experience it is. I suspect it can be a thankless task being a witness at times but you - and the others - have my heartfelt thanks. Steem on.

great post ! thank you for the 2 steem @timcliff , I've made 7 friends signed up but still learning how things work in steemit gonna spread this great opportunity to them ;-)

Awesome, you are welcome. Glad to hear :)

bobbyclee Bobby Lee tweeted @ 20 May 2017 - 08:48 UTC

@YourBTCC Congrats to all 4 finalists!
Final Round, Battle of Digital Currencies:
Which should @YourBTCC offer?… twitter.com/i/web/status/8…

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.036
BTC 65930.92
ETH 3387.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75