Sort:  

Hi Tim

Thanks for the update. I am curious for you to expand on down-voting with regards to 'various kinds of abuse'. Having watched the flags heading towards a certain user, I see very few (almost 0) from Witnesses.

This makes me wonder if: There is no issue here and the rewards being gained are acceptable to 99% of the top 50 Witnesses. Are you willing to state your view on this particular high profile episode?


Today I wrote a post which contained some Witness information and actually mentioned that I am more cautious now with my selections because of Bid bot ties.

Clearly it is their stake and can do as they wish, but I think there may be a growing tide (granted a small SP tide) of people who are looking to avoid Witnesses who own Bots, or delegate extensively to them.

Anyway, you did receive some good mentions today and have my vote :)

Oh, and am I ok to use the witness-category tag as a non-witness? Thanks!

Here is more info on my views on flagging/downvoting:

https://steemit.com/payout/@timcliff/everything-you-need-to-know-about-potential-payouts-and-flagging-for-new-users

I flag a lot of things that I see as abusive, but there is a difference between being a "large stakeholder" and being a "witness". A lot of witnesses are large stakeholders, but not all. As a witness, I see it as my role to focus more on the platform level changes that will incenvitize the best behavior, rather than getting involved in disputes that I don't have enough stake to fix.

Ok, thank you for the link and the explanation. It makes sense to focus where we can actually have an impact.

Although, every though many witnesses are not large stakeholders, they do have a reasonable following. And so I'm wondering if there could be a situation where a witness would 'rally the troops' to 'help' fix a dispute with a combined stake.

Anyway, thanks for the 'witness-category' clarification :)

Also, witness-category is fine for any Steem witness related posts (even if you are not a witness).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70