Witness Update 15th Jan 2018

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)


Source
Yes, a game, called The Witness >.<

Not much to report this week. I have so far witnessed 26 blocks which, at the current price of Steem, equates to me more than covering the cost of the server rental - yes, I know I get paid in Steem Power, but it works for me - it's building up my account slowly.

I lost a rather large witness vote this week, dropping me down 5 places to 106 - effective rank 91. This has meant I have gone from getting a block around once every 10 hours to about 12 now. Yup, it sucks.

Despite suffering with my health this week due to an MS flare up, I have kept a regular check on my server. Everything has run smoothly and last week's problem with my pricefeed not updating has not returned.

As more of a community witness, I have made a few posts aimed at Steem newbies. One describes best practices on Steem, the other is a beginners' guide to markdown. Both have been received well and I hope to do more to help the newbie community in the coming weeks.

This week I rejoined the @minnowsupport project as a moderator while still running my own community The Writers' Block.

The bit where I ask you to do something.

 
Please for the love of all that is good in the world, check which witnesses you vote for. Above me in rank are many disabled witnesses with thousands of votes. They are there because people vote for them without checking if they do a good job looking after the blockchain. You know, the thing that Steem is built on. You get the service you vote for.

I am not just asking for my own sake - yes, it would be nice to rise in rank - but do it for your OWN sakes. Go to https://steemian.info/witnesses and see for yourself which witnesses do a good job. We need reliable servers witnessing every transaction and interaction YOU make on the blockchain. If they are crossed out and in red they are not active. If you currently vote for them, consider changing that vote to an active witness. Do this not for me, but for yourselves. Help make the blockchain run better.

Like what I am doing in the community and would like to support my witness? Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses - scroll below the top 50 list and enter gmuxx in the text box, remembering to click vote.

Capture.PNG

Your support is much appreciated.




Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, or songwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block by clicking the logo below.

Sort:  

I'm a newbie here,just want to say,i love that photo... Great

https://steemian.info/witnesses

Is there somewhere which explains in some approximation of plain English what these columns mean? What is "Missed Blocks" and "Reg.Fee?"

Ideally witnesses should not miss a block. Sometimes it is unavoidable due to server downtime etc, but factor in how many blocks they get on average - the top 20 get quite a few each day.

Last block is literally the last block number that they witnessed, block age is how long ago.

Reg fee is set by witnesses which when multiplied by 30 gives a price in steem for an account to be made. Many, including myself, have set it to 0.1 due to the higher price of Steem currently.

Ver. is software version. The latest is v0.19.2 and all witnesses should be running it.

Price feed pulls data from the exchanges for the price of Steem and feed age is how old that particular price feed was announced by that witness on the network.

APR sets any interest rate in your wallet.

Hope that helps.

Yeah I'm all caught up NOT! 😂
Y'know me Muxxy, tech tard!

thanks as a beginner

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76