@firepower Witness Update: Undertaking Maintenance

My node encountered an error and the failover script had disabled it. I was on the road + train journeys and unable to get online to find and fix the issues and get it running again while traveling. It wasn't possible to drive and also be on the computer and it's also pointless when you don't have good mobile internet connectivity on the road a common occurance in India.

It was one of those times you take a break on your birthday and then things break down. :) All said and done my primary node is replaying now and should be back online in 5-8 hours as per expectations. I'm also changing my backup server now and expect to have it soon to set it up.


Source

The node replay is a slow process and i've been waiting for it to complete for a while now after the debugging was completed. In the next life I would like to be an engineer instead of a community builder and build all kinds of scripts to get shit done faster. But i'll take what I have got in this one even if it takes a bit more time and patience.

However, I felt it would be a good idea to make an update on the same as the unexpected downtime coincided with some personal time off. Anyways, these things can happen but when the node running costs come down and prices move up a little higher than where we are I'm thinking of finding a solution to ensure 24/7 uptime for my witness nodes.

That's one of the long term goals after running a stable witness for past 1 year. Higher Steem prices will help a lot in this regard for anyone keen on running a stable witness node for the long haul outside of the top 20.

I also take this opportunity to thank everyone for your continued support towards my witness. I look forward to MIRA and reduction of witness costs for all witnesses. It would be great to be able to provide a stable service to the community in the years to come at lower costs once these new updates come into effect.

Overall the experience of running nodes has been very good thanks to the support from our community. Looking forward to a great year of Steem with some amazing things happening in our community. Thanks for taking the time to read this update.


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Why You Should Vote For Firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  2. Steem.Chat Contest #71

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

From what steem inc said on the chat last week you will be able to run the node on a fraction of the cost compared to before. That should be running in the next month so great news for witnesses.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes. I eagerly await that. It would be great to run atleast 2 nodes for the price of one.

Ok but still my vote to you remains as it is

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks. Witness will be up soon. :)

Belated Happy Birthday sir

Thank you 😊 🙏

I always support your work.👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65754.91
ETH 2670.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88