Witness Update DragosRoua

in #witness-category8 years ago (edited)

Last week was rather slow on Steeimt, with the majority of people looking forward to Christmas and to a very well deserved hiatus from social activities.

Nevertheless, in some areas, Steemit was quite active. There were at least two zones in which stuff happened, one about technical tweaking for witness nodes and the other one about trolling (two witnesses had a few ins and outs over flagging and votes, apparently). I confess I completely lack the synapses to understand trolling, so, although I witnessed (pun intended) a few fiery words exchanges on the chat, I will be completely and totally silent about this part. I simply don’t understand it, so I’ll skip it.

I will, however, talk about the technical part. Thanks to some of the most active and supporting witnesses, @abit, @clayop and @someguy123, there is now a possibility to use shared memory for keeping the chainbase database file. If this sounds like Spanish to you, let’s just say it drastically speeds up the witness node while lowering the risk for missing a block.

So, here’s what happened on my part of the world, as a witness, in the old bulleted list way:

Other than that, I’m looking forward to the Steemit roadmap, which was announced a couple of weeks ago. Although the Steem price kept going down, I am increasingly optimistic about the future of the platform.

Call it a hunch ;)


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.34 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 26 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58861.70
ETH 2499.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48